Daily Archives: September 14, 2015

Time for KLM?

Captain’s Log   6,077

This stuff is pure heaven.

bolthouse

I feel like a superhero when I have this in the morning!

Today’s smoothie was a banana, vanilla Greek yogurt, almonds, and…….this stuff!  Oh yes!  I feel like I can go for hours now!  Good thing.  I am going to need all of this energy.

My eye on the prize is October 28th –  the day I leave for the Netherlands.  I am slowly knocking off the days until that moment arrives.  I will be out of the office 13 working days.  Hard to imagine being gone that long.   That should knock about a third of the time I have stored up in my time-off “bank.”

I will be flying KLM to Amsterdam.  I am flying Delta to JFK and transfer there to a real KLM flight.   I return through Minneapolis.  I picked layovers that are about 2 hours long.  I like getting off the plane and having time without panic to change planes.  I am also clearing Customs in Minneapolis so I will need time.   When I cleared Customs in Houston, there was barely enough time to find it, clear it, grab my bag, re-check it, and run to the gate.  If I don’t need the time, I break out my Kindle and relax.  Traveling to Amsterdam is 14 hours of airtime.  Coming back it will be 15 hours plus.  But that’s what you do when adventure is important to you.

Shopping at Schiphol Airport is kind of fun too.

airportbulbs-590x442

Tulips, anyone?

And they don’t mess around with security there.

AMSTERDAM, NETHERLANDS - JULY 17:  People are going to the dakotabar where family members of the victims are gathering at Schiphol airport on July 17, 2014 in Amsterdam, Netherlands. Air Malaysia flight MH17 travelling from Amsterdam to Kuala Lumpur has crashed on the Ukraine/Russia border near the town of Shaktersk. The Boeing 777 was carrying 280 passengers and 15 crew members.  (Photo by Robin Utrecht Photography/Getty Images)

Don’t mess!

These guys make our security look like….wussies.  They look like our Seal teams.

Anneke’s husband will be celebrating his 65th birthday while I am there.  Big party planned for that.  YAY!

Anyway, I am very excited to go.  Is it time to print my boarding pass yet?

 

17 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations