Hump Day

I am now officially over 1/2 way through chemo.  Tumors are shrinking every day. Some of them appear to be completely gone.  I find out in a few weeks how close I am to being cancer-free. 

It’s been quite a journey and I still have a challenging road ahead of me. 

Last week, I was taken by ambulance to the ER.  I was admitted and given two blood transfusions to boost my immune system that has crashed and burned.  I felt like a new woman the next day – ready to run a marathon.  

I have also encountered something known as chemo brain.  My thought process has slowed down and I struggle for words and ideas.  This will pass, but it’s truly annoying right now.  It’s common, but that doesn’t make it less annoying.  

So here I am half bald and not able to remember shit.  Gotta laugh at the absurdity of it all.  

21 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

21 responses to “Hump Day

  1. Keep on keepin’ on, Pirate Lady. Xoxo

  2. You are still in better shape than trump. LOL

  3. Patty O'

    What brilliant news! Poolie with Chemo Brain? Yup, that’s definitely absurd. Can you feel us all hovering? Now, THAT’s the scary part!

  4. goatbarnwitch

    Nice to see a post. Good news that the chemo is doing it’s job – you got this and we are here cheering you on with love and healing vibes

  5. So very glad to see you back here. The chemo brain is the pits, but it will get better… healing hugs to you!

  6. joe

    Enjoy It
    I Forgot A Lot
    But Remembered Whats Important
    That I have Many Friends That Love me

  7. maryz

    Lots of gentle Tennessee Hugs!

  8. *Hugs* Hang in there – progress! You’ll get past this, the hair will return, and you’ll be back to your old self, only healthier!

  9. Carrie Duff

    I love you 1/2 a brain and no hair. Sounds ike a comedy act! XXOO

  10. I can’t believe I finally have a name for my condition: “chemo brain”. Thanks!!

    Who care’s if you’re bald and confused? You’re thin! It’s worth it!! I’m very jealous.

    Keep goin’, Poolie! You still gotta win that Tony!!

    xoxoxoxoxo

  11. I’m so happy to see you writing. Love you to the moon and back.

Leave a Reply

