Daily Archives: December 30, 2012

Cavalia is…..Magnificent!

Captain’s Log  4,552

What can I say?  Cavalia is……breathtaking!  Saw it last night.  What was most amazing (after we found our seats in the very last row with space so short that I could not sit normally in my seat because my legs are so long) was when a delightful young house manager came up and offered us a free upgrade for our seats.  We moved from the nosebleed section to the 12th row – almost dead center in the house!  With tax, those seats go for $249!  EACH!  I was gobsmacked!  Not only were they so much closer, there was also room enough for me to sit almost normally.  My knees barely brushed the seat in front of me.

Cavalia.  There are no words to describe it.

cavalia 2

Stunning skills of the riders

cavalia

Beauty and grace of the horses

The upgrade was a gift from the gods.  I seriously thought I was going to have to stand for the entire show.  As it was, the seats were close enough to see everything and feel the heat of passion.  I cannot say enough.

Check out this clip.  It shows the horses and the performers doing amazing things.  When you watch the horse “ballet” near the end of the clip, imagine what we saw.  One horse last night decided to be naughty.  He kept lunging and biting the lead horse.  Yes, he did his “dance,” but every chance he got, he chose to be a complete brat.  It was VERY funny.  The trainer was trying so hard to get him in line, but like they say in the clip, the horses all have their own personalities.  It was his night to be a goof.  Actually, it was hilarious.

I have no idea where the show goes from here, but it you get the chance to see it….GO!  Just GO!  And buy the cheap seats.  You just might get lucky!

13 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations