Cavalia is…..Magnificent!

Captain’s Log  4,552

What can I say?  Cavalia is……breathtaking!  Saw it last night.  What was most amazing (after we found our seats in the very last row with space so short that I could not sit normally in my seat because my legs are so long) was when a delightful young house manager came up and offered us a free upgrade for our seats.  We moved from the nosebleed section to the 12th row – almost dead center in the house!  With tax, those seats go for $249!  EACH!  I was gobsmacked!  Not only were they so much closer, there was also room enough for me to sit almost normally.  My knees barely brushed the seat in front of me.

Cavalia.  There are no words to describe it.

cavalia 2

Stunning skills of the riders

cavalia

Beauty and grace of the horses

The upgrade was a gift from the gods.  I seriously thought I was going to have to stand for the entire show.  As it was, the seats were close enough to see everything and feel the heat of passion.  I cannot say enough.

Check out this clip.  It shows the horses and the performers doing amazing things.  When you watch the horse “ballet” near the end of the clip, imagine what we saw.  One horse last night decided to be naughty.  He kept lunging and biting the lead horse.  Yes, he did his “dance,” but every chance he got, he chose to be a complete brat.  It was VERY funny.  The trainer was trying so hard to get him in line, but like they say in the clip, the horses all have their own personalities.  It was his night to be a goof.  Actually, it was hilarious.

I have no idea where the show goes from here, but it you get the chance to see it….GO!  Just GO!  And buy the cheap seats.  You just might get lucky!

13 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

13 responses to “Cavalia is…..Magnificent!

  1. I’ve got a word for it but you probably don’t want to hear it. I’m gonna say it anyway: Exploitation. Horses are not on this planet for our entertainment. Those animals are enslaved, broken and tortured to make them do those tricks. It just makes me sad.

    • poolagirl

      I disagree. They have transparent training methods and answered all questions about how they work with the animals. The horses are taken out to run and frolic in pastures every single day and are only allowed to “work” two days a week. They are click and touch trained only. No horse is abused. My uncle in South Dakota trained his horses the same way. He had a huge ranch and got amazing results with clicks and touches. He never used a bit or a whip. He loved his animals and they were bonded with him. I agree that horses are not on the planet to entertain us, but I have been around horses my entire life. Most (not all) love to see their saddles come out and their riders approach. I think this has to be judged on an individual basis. But hey, I truly appreciate your thoughts. We all have our own way of thinking about our planet and its citizens. Thank you for telling me how you feel.

      • Well, thanks for being magnanimous about it. (Sincerely. No sarcasm there, I swear it) I’m sure plenty of people are nice to their slaves. That doesn’t make slavery ok. Perhaps the people who run this show are nice to their slaves. Problem is there are many more who aren’t. Where do we draw the line? I have to draw my line at NO animal use. There is just too much room for error.

        • Well, I don’t mean to be a shit either, but does that mean we shouldn’t have dogs as pets? We are molding their natures by wanting them to live with us and behave the way we want them to. Just food for thought.

          • Yes. I pretty much hear that every day from people trying to justify animal use/abuse. I don’t ride my dogs or use them to make myself rich. I saved them from being killed. You can’t compare the two things.

  2. I could watch that for hours…..and hours…and hours…….

  3. Cavalia looks amazing! And what a lovely gift to have been given better seats – the Universe is truly looking out for you 🙂

  4. Oh, thank you so much for the clip. Cirque de Horse…..magic stuff.

  5. Oh, I would love to see that!!

Leave a Reply

