Daily Archives: August 19, 2012

Alone on a Picnic

Captain’s Log  4,483

I got called early this morning (twice actually) because our store staff couldn’t get into the park because of this.  Even though they had parking permits, the police refused to let them onto the park grounds….period…end.

Ended smack dab in front of the museum.  How fun was that?  8,000 runners with 8,000 people picking them up in 8,000 cars. 

Being good neighbors with the park is difficult at times.  Just because the park is so beautiful, everybody and their dog wants to start or end events there.

I was so hot last night (how hot was it) that I took my sorry little ass down to the bay and had a private picnic – watched the people and the boats.  There was a concert across the street and I could hear the music (faintly).  Procol Harum.  Good stuff.

I was going to comment on how old they look now.  Decided to keep my mouth shut.

Annie Lennox did the finest cover of Whiter Shade of Pale I have ever heard.  What do you think?  I fell in love to this song once upon a time – a long, long time ago.  Back in the days when falling in love was important and meaningful. All that has changed, but this piece of music will always have a special place in my heart.

The night was lovely…..in the solitude with just my thoughts to keep me company.  I waited until it got so chilly I had to leave.  That’s what nice about the bay.  It’s always about 15 degrees cooler there.

Procol Harum has become so famous for this song. Listen to what it sounded like backed by a full orchestra in Denmark. Amazing! I wish I could write something 1/10 as magnficent.

I also spent time playing with my camera – goofing around.  Ready for Mar-Tree-Gras with this one.

 

I am so easily amused it scares me sometimes.

16 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations