Last Chance?

 Captain’s Log    5,240

This is the best I can do today.  Meryl Streep dressed as Donald Trump.  She did this months ago, but it’s really poignant now.

She is a rock star!

meryl-as-bigly

I love it when people are willing to look awful to make a point.

Just like Meryl, I have always been willing to play the ugly one.  And like Meryl, I open my mouth and say things when the world is wrong.  So many people I know LIKE my posts on Facebook but they NEVER say anything on their own pages.  Just more cat videos or pictures of where they went for dinner.  Excuses are: “I’m not political” or “I don’t want to upset anyone.”  That is all bullshit.  This is not the time to sit back and let other people make the societal changes that are necessary for all of us.

Speak up!  Be willing to look ugly.  This may be your last chance.

10 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

10 responses to “Last Chance?

  1. Wow! That was a profound blog post I just read and, after seeing Meryl’s courage, I made a decision to stop being fearful of how others would misunderstand and/or perceive me and speak up.

  2. I agree with you. And I wanted to reach out and smack the Trumpkins who were all about slamming Meryl Streep for telling the truth. But such are the delusions of the idiocracy. 😦

  3. I’m speaking. I read Dan Rather’s column on Facebook. Today he was discussing organized resistance in the context of the beginning of the republic. Fascinating. Are you going to walk in the Women’s march here in San Diego?

  4. annanotbob4

    Yes! Speak up!

  5. Carrie Duff

    She really is quite brilliant!!! Huzzah Meryl. May we all learn from her bravado! I agree 100% my friend!

Leave a Reply

