Ruining Christmas?

Captain’s Log    5,232

What kind of city department would release guidelines on December 9th for a 42-page grant proposal that takes at least 70 hours to write…….

Hang on……….

And have that all due December 27th?

So instead of truly enjoying time off for the holidays, guess who will be sitting at her desk (home office) swilling down cups of coffee and writing her ass off?  Sending off chapters for editing?  Re-writing as needed?

Can you guess?

At least I can write in my jammies and slippers.  That’s a plus.  I cannot possibly do this work at the museum with tons of distractions all day long.

I wrote this whole thing myself last year.  Other organizations split it up into 5-6 departments.  Somehow, I think that’s worse because the goal is to make it sound like one person wrote it.  A good friend who had hers done in pieces was going insane trying to get all the chapters from the different people on time.

This damn thing took me 6 weeks last time.  Granted, I didn’t write every single day for hours and hours, but I wanted it to be perfect.  And it was.  We received over $70,000 in funding.  And when you do a good job, they expect you to do an even better job the next time.  I don’t have 6 weeks this time.  I have 18 days.

But who ruins Christmas like this?  Who?

My city, that’s who.

working-from-home-office

This will not be me.

30 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

30 responses to “Ruining Christmas?

  1. Send it to me! I’ll do it! I would love an excuse to be at the keyboard instead of festive-festive-festive-ing.

    • poolagirl

      I wish I could! Unfortunately, the history of the museum and all the related weird stuff is too hard to pass off. But thanks!

  2. Joanie

    You’ve got to be kidding me! It ain’t fair! And I thought I was being put upon when I received a Jury Duty Summons to appear on Dec 23rd…. two days before Christmas….which is probably the busiest day of my entire year, of course. Don’t they know that people’s hair on Christmas is much more important than some stupid murder trial??? LOL

  3. Whoever assigned it to you obviously doesn’t have a family or friends … or maybe they do and they’re pushing their own work on you. Whatever the source, they lost major karma points on this one.

  4. Susanna

    The city is corrupt and doesn’t give a rats ass about how they inconvenience others. I heard some stories this morning from my plumber who said that Turkel guy who investigates the cities shoddy, corrupt activities had to drop an investigation that became dangerous…like shut up or get fired or worse. The mafiosos are everywhere.

  5. goatbarnwitch

    The grant system is rigged!!!!!

  6. I realize it’s your job, and you’re not ready to tell them to suck the knot end of a dirty rope yet – but I’d be tempted in your shoes. I’d definitely be looking at ways to boomerang something back on whatever bonehead decided to dump this into your lap 18 days before it’s due.

  7. farmgirl

    well…poop on them. scrooges.

  8. Carrie Duff

    Costa Rica, Puerto Rico? Oregon, Washington? Are you packing yet lol. Seriously. This person sent this out, then went on vacation! You just know they did, bye bye, syonara,see ya, asta lavista baby, adios , (excuse spelling errors) but you get the idea.

    Sorry!! Poola Boola!!!!! It truly sucks!!

  9. Mrs D

    I review grant guidelines/deadlines and nothing irks me more when GLs are released 5 minutes before the deadline. It’s like there is a presumption that no one has anything else to do than fulfill some of the nitpicky requirements with little to no turn around time. I’m sure most times the benefits outweigh the hoops to jump through but still. I feel for you!

  10. annanotbob4

    Yeah, when I was teaching, the Year 11s would have to sit mock exams in the last weeks of term so we’d have to mark them over the two week holiday and write reports for them as well. For most students there would be two 90 minute English Language papers and one 90 minute Literature paper. I usually had two groups of 30 kids, plus a family to ‘Christmas’ for. I did love some aspects of teaching but… You have my sympathy xx

  11. Patty O'

    I know who: a clone of the hideous professor who assigned a research paper for Christmas Break…usually in the history or lit dept so that it would have to be long and with copious footnotes. THEN the bastard would go all beaky and reduce the grade because on page 41 you strayed a millimeter out of the proscribed margins of the hand typed monster (no computers then, Baby, type the whole page over again). I hate those kinds of minds. My heart goes out to your bleeding eyeballs and quivering brain.

  12. Penny Tushingham

    I got a $50k bid request from the state last week and less than 24 hours to put together. Fortunately it was a repeat so i only needed to update a few costs.Errr….

    Penny

Leave a Reply

