A Day to Remember

Captain’s Log    5,223

It’s today.  Dia De Los Muertos.  Day of the Dead.

day-of-the

A big deal here in San Diego and in all communities with a large Hispanic presence

I had no idea what it was when I moved here.  Then again, I had never even seen a mango until I moved here in 1991.  Cultural immersion happened quickly, and that makes me very happy.

Remember the ones you loved.  Remember the ones who made your life full and rich.  It is the special day for that.

dia

It’s a good day to remember.

16 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

16 responses to “A Day to Remember

  1. Susanna

    Day of the Dead is really lovely. Once I got beyond the skeletons heads and came to understand the sentiment I embraced it.

  2. Carrie Duff

    It is by far my favorite time of the year and I dance skyclad if I get the opportunity, a quiet place, in the forest, in a circle, under the stars. It is my birth right, it is my storm rising and it is truly who I am and what I live for all year long to treasure and remember those who have gone before, and watch over us. Thanks so much for this post, I Love you!.

  3. I haven’t seen you since the first…are you in mourning?

  4. goatbarnwitch

    You be preaching to the witchy choir……. the veil is thin now and we can feel our past, present, and future. The Universe is NOT lineal and that is Beauty

  5. I pray for the souls of all those who have passed when I say my nightly prayers. (and sometimes throughout the day if their face comes to mind) I ask for them to be blessed in their next life…

  6. Two days, according to google. I love it too. How is Frank taking it.

  7. Pat Ferrian

    Remembering

  8. Patty O'

    The older I get the more important it becomes that I sit down quietly and remember…

Leave a Reply

