Logic Maps and Other Goofy Shit

Captain’s Log    5,193

I have no left brain.  Seriously.  I spent two entire days in technical workshops to learn how to write a compelling grant that incorporates research, statistics, and qualitative/quantitative analysis.

I was bored our of my skull with the financial analysis class.  I did not have the museum budget, but the guy was asking us to fill out worksheet forms based on our budget information.  If you don’t have it, you just make shit up.  The fellow sitting next to me actually HAD his budget on his computer, and it still didn’t make any sense.  We are directors of museums and organizations.  We are NOT financial analysts.  The only person who got what was going on was a CPA sitting on the other side of the room.  He actually knew how to calculate depreciation of his fixed assets.  Bully for him.

A good class is one where people are taught – not one where people feel stupid.  I checked out after about 15 minutes of listening to this dry numbers guy try to be funny.  He even came over to our table and tried to help us.  But he asked for detail that none of us could provide.  Sorry.  I don’t keep my entire budget emblazoned in my brain.  I do not know EXACTLY how much our insurance costs are for a fiscal year.  I don’t know the percentage of increase we now pay for our worker’s comp insurance compared to last year.  Holy shit.

When I get my evaluation form, I am ranking this teacher a big fat ONE.

poor

I don’t like to feel stupid.  I do a good job with that myself every single day.  I don’t need anyone to help me feel stupid.

The logic mapping was not as tough.  At least I understood the concepts.  But if I had to put every idea through a mapping process, I wouldn’t get anything done.  And the museum would be boring.  Sometimes, good ideas come when you are driving down the street or buying bananas in the store.  And you say, “Wow!  Cool idea!  Let’s try this!”

I don’t think there is a playwright in the entire world that sits around and maps out the logic of writing a play.  It just fucking happens.

Off to catch up on being away for two days.  I’m sure that will be fun.

18 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

18 responses to “Logic Maps and Other Goofy Shit

  1. Carrie Duff

    Ohhhh me take me….I’m begging you!! Have a ball! Xxoo

  2. Very strange… it’s like attending those United Way demonstrations–you have no choice in whether or not you’re going to donate, but they force you to take time from your work to sit (sleep?) through these hour+ presentations. Gag me with a spoon! I even tried to bargain with my boss at one point, telling him i would donate the maximum amount if he’d let me off the hook for the presentation and let me stay at my desk and work. Nope. Not a chance. I hope you didn’t have to pay too much for this agony.

  3. By golly. Were’t you supposed to have that in hand? LOL

  4. Patty O'

    Obviously they did not map their own logic when making the preparations for the class. Otherwise they would have known that nothing would work without the supporting data. DUH.

  5. Valerie

    Gee, wouldn’t it have been nice if the seminar registration had recommended that you bring some of that financial information with you? Still would have been as boring as hell, but at least you could have looked prepared.

  6. ZZZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzZZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzz………

  7. bholles

    You are funny. And yes you do not have much of a left brain. And I am almost totally left brained with very little right brain. So we make for interesting sisters.

Leave a Reply

