Happy Anniversary to Me

Captain’s Log    5,191

13bday

Wow!  My blog-versary came and went and I didn’t even notice.  I started all this nonsense on July 23, 2003.  I was unemployed and disaffected.  I was delivering flowers part time to make ends meet.  Those were not the best of times.  I was bored and angry.

I found an online journal on a site known as Diaryland, and I signed up and posted my first entry.  A week later, somebody actually read what I wrote and said something.

Diaryland was a great community of writers.  I met so many people there!   It was cumbersome and hard to use, but we loved each other enough not to care.

Eventually, new journal sites sprang up that offered a lot more features for FREE.  So I changed horses and moved to WordPress.  Thousands of people did.  Diaryland is still hanging on by a thread, but that’s not much of a lifeline.

At the height of my writing, when the blogging community was huge, I was reading about 40 journals a day.  Now, I can count on one hand the regulars who post things.  My readership is about 10% of what it used to be.  Thank you, Facebook.

A lot has happened in those 13 years.  I wrote, produced, and directed two full musicals.  I also co-wrote and co-directed a non-musical for a local community theatre (no pay but it was still fun).  I worked on a tall ship for an entire year.  I worked as a research analyst (barf).  I discovered the museum through theatre connections and now I run the place.  I bought a new car for the first time.  I bought my first house.  I traveled to Europe three times.

But it hasn’t been all roses and wonderful stuff.  I lost my precious mother.  I also lost about 50 friends when I left the church.  Very few of those folks will have anything to do with me.  Four of the most delightful online writer pals of mine also passed away.  Three staff members at the museum have also passed away.

Life moves and changes as it reshapes itself through our connections and our experiences.  I sit here today with great gratitude that it continues to amaze me – both the good times and the bad.  For it proves I am fully present in these moments.

30 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

30 responses to “Happy Anniversary to Me

  1. Joanie

    Screw facebook. I would so much rather read an interesting and well-written journal such as yours than to spend two minutes with all the trouble-inciting garbage on facebook. Congratulations and thank you for 13 years of entertaining, enlightening, and hilarious writing which I’ve enjoyed reading just as long.

  2. goatbarnwitch

    Happy blogoverssary….. I lost track but for me it was a friend who found Diaryland and thought it would be super cool to pass notes again across the country…. we were huge note passers in high school and we still actually have some of them stashed and they travel from one of us to the other. I remember blogging about 9/11 shortly after so I have been at this a very very long time. Although these days my posts are infrequent and often whiny…
    Anyway, I very much look forward to your posts as they speak to me in so many ways.
    Hugs from NY!

  3. I think it’s nice that you know exactly when you began writing. I don’t remember when I actually started writing, but I didn’t have a blog until after I met Mage in the early 90’s, and she turned me on to OpenDiary. I never could get the hang of Prosebox, though I know that’s where she hangs out. Happy Anniversary and thanks for writing — you’re fun to read and I know we enjoy the same things in life. Hugs… T

  4. I’m not sure I if I should thank you or curse you for 13 years of blogging. It’s been 13 years of really fun readership. On the other hand, it’s been 13 years of being reminded I’m NOT (usually) the most talented wordsmith on the interwebs. So: bless you! Curse you!

    And here’s to 13 more…at least!

    🙂

  5. annanotbob

    Happy anniversary – I am so glad that I found you (on the over-40s diary-ring!) and that you still write. I realised, reading this that I missed my anniversary too – I started on 19/7/2005 – missed my ten years last year! Must write more often – going to go and do so right now. Hugs x

  6. maryz

    13 must be a lucky number for you!

  7. Patty O'

    Congratulations on Happy 13, Captain! Yours was my first blog ever and I am forevermore addicted because you write about everything and every mood. You can be happy, sad, wistful, nostalgic, funny, outraged, outrageous, out of sorts, but never out-written. Through you I read Dangerspouse and, so help me, I am addicted to his sexy/funny self, too, which is on some level highly inappropriate but as Mehitabel says, whathell… I wish you many more years of keeping us in stitches or in tears. Thank you/!

    • Inappropriate? Fuck you, bitch! NEVER! Oh, and thanks 🙂
      I share your high regard for Poolie. In fact, I never would have become a Furry if it hadn’t been for her infamous Easter Bunny entry. Ya just never know what’s gonna trigger a sexual awakening, y’know? If for no other reason I’ll always be grateful for having found her. And AnaleEze.

    • poolagirl

      Aww, Patti! You say the nicest things!

  8. Jean Fisch

    Happy anniversary !!

  9. Mrs D

    Happiest anniversary wishes! I keep making good faith efforts to blog, but I just don’t have it in me anymore. I can’t even scapegoat my kids. I’d love to return to it, but I have a very contentious relationship with writing lately. If you keep writing, I’ll keep reading! Yours is truly the only blog I read regularly anymore!

  10. Sally Vangorkom

    Hurray! Happy Anniversary!!!

  11. Edie

    Congratulations….I look forward to your entries every day that you write them and feel as though I know you personally. Keep it up!

  12. Penny Tushingham

    And we had great adventures!

    Pen Pen

Leave a Reply

