Here Comes the Dunce

Captain’s Log     5,176

It’s time for this picture again.  Just saying.

a-confederacy-of-dunces-by-john-kennedy-toole

I wish I was skilled enough in Photoshop to put Trump’s face there instead.

People have actually asked me why I get so fired up over such things.  Why can’t I just talk about puppies and flowers?  Maybe I should hold forth about recipes for banana bread or how  new insoles make my feet feel better.  Gel heel pads are the best.

My everyday life is not very exciting.  At least not to me.  I go to work and I do stuff.  Then, I come home.  Sometimes, I have dinner with a friend.  Most of the time, I make some food and settle down with a book or a wee bit of television.  A big night for me is going out to the movies with friends.  I shop for groceries on the weekends when I see my sister.  I do laundry and wash my hair.  I really love doing laundry but who would ever care about that?

I do not live in the everyday things or experiences that keep my bank account healthy.  I live in the dreams and opportunities to create change.  I also live for learning as much about the world as I can through travel.  It’s not just seeing the places, it’s also connecting with the people.  I can be just as happy driving to Yuma, Arizona as I am going to Cape Cod.  Why?  Because every adventure is different.  Every adventure has a vast reservoir of joy just waiting to be tapped.

When I used to perform for a living, people asked me if I got tired of singing the same songs over and over again.  The answer was and still is NO.  I may have sung the song 1,000 times, but the people in the audience are experiencing it on their own terms.  Thus, it’s a new creation every time it’s performed.  The energy is never the same.

Changing our society and culture right now is very exciting for me.  I know there is a vast amount of work to be done, and I am excited to find the best place for me to help.  Right now, I carry on here and on Facebook.  Because it’s important to do those things.  At least for me.  I cannot sit back and stay silent about gun control, the environment, homophobia, immigration, reproductive rights, etc.  If I sit here and say nothing, my inaction is just as bad as agreement.

head-in-sand

Hello in there?  Do you give a shit?

I know people who actually refuse to engage in any news stories because they don’t want the “bad energy” of current events to upset their delicate balance(s).  What a crock of shit.  Unaware people who are unaware by choice should not even breathe the same air as me.  Sorry.  We HAVE to know!  We are all one people, and if something is happening to one of us, it is happening to all of us.  I just cannot fathom choosing to ignore the news and choosing to live a blissfully unaware life.  It’s not fair to the rest of us.  You can bet if something happened to them, they would want us all to come rushing to their aid and defense.  You cannot receive if you are not willing to give.  Period.  End.

I am stepping of the soap box now.  Carry on.

10 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

10 responses to “Here Comes the Dunce

  1. I read the BBC first…and I find the Washington Post the best of the National Papers. Sometimes I’m like Tehachap, and poke my head in a pile of fabrics. Mostly I support. There’s a drag show in Hillcrest tonight with 100% of the profits going to the Orlando victims. I’d like to go to that, but I’m going to another meeting. Keep on ranting kid, that’s what makes you special.

  2. Thank you … I hadn’t seen my reluctance to read newspapers or watch newscasts on t.v. as being unaware. I see it as my own self-protection–not that I don’t care about others because I do. But I can only take so much killing, abuse, sadness in before I become depressed. And I get depressed enough on my own without the added input of negativity from others. Sure, I post political stuff and anti-gun and anti-homophobia, because I feel strongly about these issues. But after a while, it all becomes too much and I begin to feel like it’s futile effort on my part. So I back off and let things go by for awhile. Balance is what I seek…

  3. Patty O'

    Well written. BRAVO!

  4. Yes! Yes! Preach it, sistah!

    Everyone: start consuming MORE NEWS!

    (Paid for by people who provide news for a living and need to make that next car payment. Thank you.)

  5. Penny Tushingham

    I read News headlines but choose not to engage in the drama. Life is too short worry about what bully’s are saying 24/7. I would rather focus on positive things and if I can make a difference.

    Pen Pen

    • poolagirl

      But you need to know what you need to do to make that difference. I think there is wisdom in learning all you can about your enemies. It makes you stronger.

Leave a Reply

