All Aboard

Captain’s Log    5,170

The world waits for nobody.  You either jump on the train or you face the possibility of never getting where you want to go.

waiting for the train

The OH, WOE IS ME look that I see way too much these days

I am amazed when people have not carved out any destiny for themselves.  They wait for either good luck or the generosity of other people to give their lives meaning and purpose.

I’ve got news for everyone reading here.  We were all born with our own train to catch.  Some of us were born with our own trains.

I built my own train years ago.  I am not saying this to brag.  I am saying this because it’s true.  Over the years, I have carried many interesting loads of cargo.  I have carried strange jobs, I have carried loneliness, I have carried disappointment and despair, and I have carried so many adventures I can no longer count them.  But the truth of the matter is this.  Every town my train rolls through has a coupling yard.  I can add to my train or take cars off my train.  It’s my choice.  I don’t have to carry a cargo of sorrow forever.  I can run with just the engine if I choose – carrying no load at all – free and swift and rolling down the track with my head out of the cab, swooshing through the breeze and taking it all in like a happy dog.

I must admit it gets tiring when people sidle up with their train car and want to hook it to mine.  I am getting tired of carrying loads I don’t want or understand.  I am running out of patience for such things.  Maybe it’s age.  Maybe it’s experience.  Maybe it’s how much I love the idea of being free.

22 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

22 responses to “All Aboard

  1. goatbarnwitch

    Man do I relate to this bit. Since the housecleaning here I have discovered I have been putting up with a lot of less than useful connections. I am backing away from those things and turning toward more positive and constructive things…. it may be a bit of age, but I think becoming aware of how we allow things at times because it is the simpler path rather than choosing the labor of disconnecting those connections is key to finding our happiness.

    • poolagirl

      Yes. We put up with stuff because we feel tired. And we feel tired because we put up with stuff. It’s a cycle.

  2. Patty O'

    I LOVE that…for a lot of reasons. It also took me back to when I saw “Twilight Express”. My ears still ring when I think about it. If you’re hot familiar each car of three trains = the characters. They represent Steam, Diesel, and Electric and each has his/her own song style. My favorites were the old car that sang the Blues and the flashy little car who was Country-Western. Go to YouTube and select either the old or new cast albums and look for “I’ve been U.N.C.O.U.P.L.E.D.” What a night that was! Not exactly the Opera but I loved it…and all the roller skating. What theatrical fun!

  3. I love this blog. You are so right. How many heavy junk-filled train cars of others I have tried to drag along with me, just to be “railroaded” into something I didn’t want to be part of. I’m letting the cars uncouple as they wish to do and gathering up speed to get on the Happy Train!

  4. bholles

    I totally agree with you.

  5. On this guest edition of “Deep Thoughts by Jack Handey”….
    😉

    • poolagirl

      You stink

      • Look who’s train car is carrying a load of snark!

        • poolagirl

          You’re just jealous because I used to ride the Illinois Central.

            • poolagirl

              I know where your weak spots are. Always have. Always will.

            • poolagirl

              Your name came up in a discussion about Michael the Catfish dude the other day. Did I tell you he died?

              • Michael the Big Movie Star, right? The one that strung that poor girl on DL along for so long? Yeah, a couple of years ago another poster told me about it. Brain problem, if I recall (and I was surprised he had one). Good riddance to bad garbage. We’re all the better for his passing.

                • poolagirl

                  He said he got a brain fever from surfing or something. Surfing in front of his Malibu mansion in polluted water. Then he said he couldn’t meet the DL chick because his son (who was a professional baseball player) was dying in New York. He was a piece of work.

                  • Lol. I could spend an entire afternoon relating all the wild tales he told me. How Johnny Depp insisted that shooting on “Pirates of the Caribbean 2” be held up until Michael’s schedule allowed him to arrive on set (he was an extra, mind you…or so he said)…how he got his brain injury from shrapnel in Vietnam…how blah blah blah blah. I used to egg him on just to see how far he’d strain credulity. I never found an upper limit.

                    I used to be amused by him, even friendly to him, until I found out how he really wrecked that girl’s life. She believed everything he told her, including that he was gonna marry her. She tried numerous times to meet him, and he always found some excuse or disaster (his Mailbu home on the cliff was on fire/sinking/robbed) to thwart her attempts. She spent thousands on airfare back and forth over the years, for naught. True, she should probably have wised up. But if I recall, she was coming from an abusive relationship and was clinging to any hope. All the more reason he was despicable.

                    My other forum friend actually grew up with him in Texas, and told me a lot more about his pattern of psychopathology than I was able to glean just from my DL dealings with him. I’m honestly glad he’s gone.

                    • poolagirl

                      Gads! I am glad too. He once told me he waved at me from the plane as he flew over San Diego. Funny. Planes don’t fly over San Diego. Too much air traffic. They either land or take off. There is no waving. I forgot about the war injury stuff. He had me believing Johnny Depp read this online journal.

                    • poolagirl

                      And we are out of reply threads. Dang!

  6. Penny Tushingham

    Our trains have led us to many great adventures in the past and hopefully many more in the future.

    Pen Pen

Leave a Reply

