Make a Dent

Captain’s Log    5,169

About a mile from beautiful Balboa Park (where I work), we have an enormous street encampment of homeless people.  It boggles my mind that one of the richest countries in the world allows this to happen.

Balboa

Beautiful Balboa Park

homeless_rain2016_002_t933x640

Homeless encampment on the street during the last El Nino rains.

Something is wrong.  And please don’t tell me these people don’t want help.  Don’t tell me how many of them are choosing this.  I don’t want to hear that crap right now.

I have cooked and served food for the homeless.  I have taken left-over catering from museum events to these people.  I have given money.  I have played games with their children.  I have turned a blind eye when a family of four living in a car uses a public restroom in the park to keep themselves clean.  I have bought meals and coffee.

And it hasn’t made a dent.  I can’t make a dent.  Not alone.  I need your help.

Vote.  Please vote.  It’s the only way to affect change.  And if you say you hate both candidates, please vote for the Democratic choice.  Not voting puts Trump closer to the White House.  He cannot become our president.  If our social ills are bad now, they would become 1000% worse under Trump.

Please.  Have a heart.  Make a dent.

18 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

18 responses to “Make a Dent

  1. Steph Rake

    VOTE!! VOTE!!!! Unbelievable that Trump has gotten so far….
    And I do believe one person can make a difference.

  2. Steph Rake

    Vote!!! Vote!!! We have to stop TRUMP…unbelievable that he has gotten so far… One person CAN make a difference….

  3. Sadly, this group has always been the marginalized one. Regardless of political affiliation, it seems that no prior presidents have made this issue less of an issue. The fed govt seems to dump the responsibility onto the states who then dump it on the cities. Either way, its more than not enough jobs, or low-income housing, its also mental health assistance for some of them, and veterans’ assistance for others. Good post. 🙂

  4. You got it. Bravo Barb.

  5. Thank you for all you do and for all you have done. You’re so very right about everyone’s need to vote and take the initiative to make a difference in the world around them. One person at a time, one day at a time. We need the change!

  6. goatbarnwitch

    I totally agree with you. It blows my mind that so many homes sit empty because of foreclosure yet families are homeless…. seems pretty obvious that something is very very wrong.
    If people would open their eyes and become informed then vote we could change things. It just seems there are too many fools who want a quick fix dictator, scary.
    I am seriously looking at dual citizenship as my get out of Trumpville plan. Fortunately a grandparent was an immigrant…..

  7. Patty O'

    Thus time I do not understand how ANY woman could vote for any of the hate- and ignorance-filled choices from the GOP. The ground has shifted beneath their party and the inmates have taken over the asylum for sure. We MUST reject their frightening visions for our future.

  8. I completely agree with you.

  9. bholles

    I just sent in my vote for Bernie.

Leave a Reply

