Simple Living

Captain’s Log    6,159

simple life

I have most of this down.  The uncomplicated part is still….complicated.  Most of that revolves around pressure from the job.  We have almost $50,000 owed to us from government agencies that are slow to pay.  We are almost a year late with one contract.  When you are dealing with City Hall, that’s the way it goes.  We are not alone.  Everyone awarded that contract is still waiting to be paid.

Some of the smaller organizations cannot absorb a delay like this.  They are cutting staff and putting programs on hold.  The people in power have no clue what it’s like to depend on funding.  I certainly hope I will be able to bring the museum in on budget at the end of June.  That is my job.  Right now, that seems close to impossible.  Nothing will make you lose sleep like facing a budget shortfall every single day.

I have the unmaterialistic part of a simple life down just fine.  I have always been a saver instead of a spender, and I am so grateful for that now.  Ever since I was a small child, I was always the one who had money in my pocket.  I always did whatever I had to do to pay my bills and keep a roof over my head.  Multiple part time jobs, shared housing, etc.  I did it.  I did it because I valued my freedom above everything else.

My parents taught me the value of handling money wisely.  Just because I could afford something did not mean I should go buy it.  Because….next month I might not have money.  Working as a traveling musician taught me how to save.  You work, you get paid.  You don’t work, you don’t get paid.  So it was important to set money aside for those lean times.  And when you have money in your pocket, you can help others.

I remember agonizing over the $500 I spent for a 1965 Martin D-18 guitar.  It was the guitar of my dreams, but it was going to almost wipe out my savings account.  I bought it.  I used it on the road for over 10 years.  And now that guitar is worth almost $5,000.  The banjo I bought for $200 from a drunk guy in a bar was worth $800.  When I found out what it was worth, I offered to give it back.  He insisted I keep it.

So that’s how I was able to build up a significant collection of stringed instruments.  None of them were purchased new.  But all of them are priceless to me.  And that is part of the simple life as far as I am concerned.  My love for those instruments has created the value, not what they would go for on eBay.

Rich in experience?  Nailed that one.

adventure

When do we leave?

The road gives me so much joy.  I don’t care about the canapes or the chocolate strawberries.   I don’t care about being seen at the “right” events.   I do all those things, but my mind is always somewhere else.  My mind is always thinking about where to go next.  Where can we go and when do we leave?

18 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

18 responses to “Simple Living

  1. I will come visit your Martin any old time. Yes, tour guide in your retirement.

  2. I think you would make an awesome travel agent or tour guide! And yeah, I wouldn’t mind having G as a step-brother who I could call and talk to about computers and stuff. And Mage could be my step-sister and we could share fabrics and recipes and stuff. As for you, I’d be the red-headed step-child sitting in the back seat of your VW bus as we traveled all over the country, which is exactly what my two step-sisters and I did back in 2001 when we took Nancy’s VW bus all the way to Indiana from Maitland Florida via Tennessee and Virginia, finding all of our ‘roots’ and family cemeteries, etc. Love that you identify with that VW bus,,,,happy memories for me for sure, even though Nancy didn’t ‘do’ freeways so all of our traveling was via back roads or two-lane highways. Roads I had never dreamed of being on, she took them like they were part of her anatomy! LOL Talk about fun,,,

  3. You learned early what matters, and how to stay afloat even during the lean times. It’s always a challenge but it can be done. You also understand that “new” doesn’t automatically equal “better”. You’re a wise woman indeed.

  4. Sounds good to me. Life as an itinerant artist taught me to find alternative means of funding. LOL Without G, I would be nowhere.

  5. Carrie Duff

    Love you so so much, miss you even more!

  6. You definitely need a tour bus of some sort. I can still imagine you traveling around the world, talking to people in the cafes and coffee shops, singing along and playing your instruments to create love and understanding.

  7. bholles

    Maybe you should be a tour guide and travel all over the world.

Leave a Reply

