Looking For True North

Captain’s Log    6,158

I am binge-watching Netflix’s House of Cards. It is frightening.  It is so close to the truth of what’s happening now that it makes me ill.  But it’s like watching a train wreck.  You just keep watching.  It’s brilliantly done.  The crude and brutal world of politics is illustrated here so well.

HC

Kevin Spacey is genius in the role of Frank Underwood.  Notice how his tie is NOT long enough to cover his junk.  Donald Trump might learn a thing or two watching Kevin.  His ties are ridiculously long.

junk ties

I guess when you think your junk is that YUGE you need a long tie to cover it.

But the best role is Claire Underwood played by Robin Wright.  She is ruthless and very much like a sociopath.  The role she plays is a combo of Lady Macbeth, Cersei Lannister from Game of Thrones, and several people I actually really know.

clair

Totally scary shit.  Totally.  And I know people like Claire very well.  Especially since I took the job I have now.

This show is all about loyalty and deceit.  I have lived long enough to know that most people want something from you.  There are very few people who would wait for you to get into the lifeboat first.  They will save you only if their own safety is guaranteed.  Or only if they would look good rescuing you.

This is a good thing to know.  Every time I find my trust level with people getting a bit “soft” or “fuzzy,” I must regain my sense of mindfulness about the paths I walk and the people I choose to walk them with me.  There is always someone lurking to figure out ways to steal your creativity, your success, your dreams, and your sense of self.  There are people who prey on destruction.  I am not talking only grand scale.  I am talking about those who insult you in small ways, scheme in small ways, etc.  The better you are, the more they want you to topple.

Even a small bus can cause damage if you are thrown under it enough times.

There are times when I feel vulnerable.  That is happening now.  This journal helps me find my true north.  True north = goals, people, attitudes, dreams.  I am off course.

18 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

18 responses to “Looking For True North

  1. I haven’t watched House of Cards, but think it’s time I dig it up.

  2. Joel Anderson

    House of Cards and GOT are my TV addition.

  3. Patty O'

    “Even a small bus…” Wow. You said a mouthful there. Wish I could still needlepoint because there would be a sampler getting started today!

  4. I felt the same way about House of Cards. It just made me even more sure of how much we (the 99%) know nothing about what the government had done to us.

  5. bholles

    Just got my Netflix working again so will start watching the House of Cards.

  6. Joanie

    I would TRY to save you. But if I failed, once they dragged you out of the water I would do your hair so you’d look good at the funeral. (Note to yourself: “do not ever get into a boat with Joanie without a lifejacket.”)

  7. Penny Tushingham

    I would never board the lifeboat without insuring you were there right beside me.

    Pen Pen

Leave a Reply

