Don’t Believe a Word Danger Says

Captain’s Log    6,134

I know Mr. Danger is excited for this big change.  I can feel it all the way across the country.  East Coast to West Coast.  Feel the love!  He is even commenting from his new journal “identity.”  If he has figured out how to leave smart-ass comments here, he can certainly figure out how to post his own stuff on his new journal so all of my pals can leave smart-ass comments for him.  It’s only fair.  The commenting wars.

I was going to call him a dingus, but I thought better of it.  “Dingus” can also mean “penis.”  I’m sure he would have figured that out sooner or later.  The last thing I want to do is call Mr. Danger a penis.  I would never hear the end of it.  It’s not as bad as Trump saying Hillary got “schlonged.”  

Sidenote:    People who talk about schlongs or schlongging probably don’t have much in the way of their own personal one.  Just saying.  I don’t have a schlong per se.  But I do have a very large organ that sometimes bursts with joy, enthusiasm, and lusty fun when I least expect it.  There are times when this huge organ of mine just flaps right out there for the entire world to see.  Sometimes, my huge organ is so big when I wake up in the morning that I can barely contain it.  I have……a brain.

___________________

I spent a good part of yesterday afternoon in the ER with one of the volunteers.  He managed to get his wrist caught in a hydraulic closure on one of the prototype pickup trucks we were taking back to the storage facility.  His hand was in the way.  The gate of the truck caught his wrist and pulled him all the way through.  He knew it was stupid for him to have his hand there.  He blamed only himself.  But it was quite an injury.

When I first saw it, the blood streak was going all the way around his wrist.  At first glance, it looked like his hand was partially severed.  Gads!  Once we toweled off the blood, it was apparent that it was a massive gouge on the back side of his wrist.  If he had been wearing a watch, it could have been a LOT worse.

We wrapped him in gauze and tape and took off for the ER.  Because he is on blood thinners, he was swelling up like a balloon.  His wrist was so swollen it looked…..other worldly.  It was swelling more with each passing minute.

When we got to the ER, it took three nurses to remove his wedding ring.  The re-taped him and then we waited.  And waited.  They marked his wrist with a pen to track how far the swelling was spreading.  It was ghastly.

They finally took him back and stitched him up.  It’s going to take some time before that hand looks good again.  Our business manager came to the ER too and that was fortunate.  She was able to take him home on her way home.   Bless her for that.  She saved me a good hour of driving.

____________

I never know where my days will take me.  Building a blog for Mr. Danger to thinking someone had a severed hand.  It’s never dull.

14 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

14 responses to “Don’t Believe a Word Danger Says

  1. Joanie

    Yes, that was quite a day for your docent AND for you. When you showed me the photo I couldn’t believe he didn’t at least pass out. I almost passed out just seeing it! Have a lovely weekend and get some well needed rest!

  2. If you call me a penis it will just go to my head. Which may be what you’re after, filthy girl. But I don’t judge.

    Oh my gosh – that poor watch!!

  3. Hoping the Super Bowl break will help you relax and recover. Enjoy that once a year drink too!

  4. Patty O'

    Yup, that was SOME day! Enjoy your little getaway and come home refreshed, please.

  5. Oh goodness… never knew blood thinners would cause that swelling. I do hope he’s doing o.k. today. What an ordeal for you. Today has got to be better! Hugs…

  6. bholles

    What a day. Your break is almost here.

Leave a Reply

