Broken Fences

Captain’s Log    6,132

I knew it was too good to be true.  I knew I must have suffered some storm damage.  But it all looked fine.  Until………………….

Until I got home and realized when the UPS guy opened my gate……the damn fence almost collapsed.  It is pulled right out of its foundation.  I am going to have my handy man look at it one more time to see if it is remotely possible to fix.  If not, I need a new fence.  I really DO need a new fence.  That is not the issue.  I just don’t want to deal with it right now.  That is the issue.  Plus I am not too keen on parting with a couple thousand bucks.  I don’t want to involve my insurance company.

There were trees down all over Balboa Park.  Fortunately, none of them fell near the museum.  But we DO have a plethora of palm fronds which can be very dangerous when hurled like javelins in a windstorm.

palm fron

Once they stab into you, they hook inside and it is tremendously painful.  Ask me how I know.

Having a palm frond come at you in a wind storm is a bit like encountering shark’s teeth. The only difference is that you will not be eaten alive.  Just poked and cut up and you will most likely live another day.  I stepped on one of those hooks with my bare feet once.  Holy shit!

I am going to the hospital tonight to visit my friend who had her hip replaced yesterday.  She has been suffering intense pain for a long time.  Steroid shots are no longer working.  She is bone-on-bone.   When I asked what she might want us to bring, she said Mexican rice pudding.  There is nothing quite like it.  So that’s what we will bring her.

pudd

Senor Rico makes the best.  It has a lot of cinnamon on top.  These are a staple for quick snacks in my house.  I feel more self-righteous with these than I do with ice cream.  Another delusion.  Oh well.

___________________

And I suppose I need to address the politics in Iowa last night.  I am so glad my native state folks did not hand it over to Donald Trump.  Ted Cruz is another demon in disguise, but at least it wasn’t Trump.  This caucus will hopefully shift the game.  It certainly shifted it for Bernie.  I am sure Hillary was shitting in her pants yesterday.

go ber

I have always been a dyed-in-the-wool liberal and I will always be.  I believe in education, less war, affordable healthcare, equal opportunity, and a moral responsibility to be of service to others.  Amen.

 

15 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

15 responses to “Broken Fences

  1. Sorry about your fence. What a bummer… Hooray for Bernie!!! Hugs!

  2. Joanie

    Dang, what a storm, huh?

  3. poundheadhere

    I’m sorry your fence got pretty much killed in the storm. I know you’d rather not deal with it now, but what if another storm rips through while you’re out of town? It could be not so good…

  4. Valerie

    So proud of Bernie! Who would have thought it 6 months ago?

  5. I love Mexican Rice Pudding too. and that Mexican cinnamon chocolate syrup ABUELITA….i can’t wait to find it again!!!!

  6. Patty O'

    Fences and roofs and windows, OH MY!!!

  7. Penny Tushingham

    Having had to replace all the major things in my house over the last year, I totally understand not wanting to part with lots of dollars but on the other hand, everything I replaced will out live me most likely which is a good feeling to have once it’s done. No more expensive surprises for me except will probably have to replace some windows in a few years.

    Ouch on the Palm trees. Glad the museum didn’t take a hit.

    Pen Pen

Leave a Reply

