Breathe Again, Breathe Again

Captain’s Log    6,131

I have come up for air.  The freaking grant is done!  42 pages of text and 29 attachments.

Now, we have exhibit change all week.  At least that is sort of fun.  At least the museum buys lunch for everyone and we all have a great time.  That goes on until late Thursday.   I leave for Vegas Friday morning, and it cannot be soon enough.  I fly back on Monday.

I am sneaking an extra day on February 26th to go out to the desert with some friends. They are great people!  They go to the desert all the time but they have never seen Salvation Mountain.  That’s the goal.  See Salvation Mountain and Slab City and then head into the town of Niland for some guacamole.

salvation01

It’s the weirdest thing ever.  This big heap of sand painted for Jesus in the middle of nowhere.

slab_city 2

The merry pranksters of Slab City who are squatting on the remains of a luxury trailer court/resort.  It’s the meth capital of the desert!  They just do weird shit all day.  Every day at 4:00 in the afternoon, someone goes into Niland for ice.  They bring back the ice and have “happy hour” at the “bar.”  The ice is free.  Bring your own booze.  Get shitfaced (the slab people, not me).  

jon and lynn

My travel pals.  They are also geocachers!  Hope to do some of that too!

My next REAL days-in-a-row off will be in May when I travel to the East Coast for a conference.  I am tagging on 5 extra days to spend time with friends.  I have never been to Boston or Cape Cod, so that will be fun.  I am keeping the rental we are getting for the conference.  Splitting the cost with the museum.  Seems quite fair.  My conference companion and I split up on May 7th in Boston and reunite on the 13th for the flight home.  She is getting her own car to explore cool stuff like Lexington and Concord.

I am going to visit Frank the Drummer at the Cape.  Frank and I first met at a church picnic right after I moved to San Diego.  He was trying to sing “Stay,” and was having trouble with the high notes.  I leaned over and just sang them.  We have been friends ever since.  Here we are in our younger days.  Frank the Drummer is in white jeans.

megs

My hair was darker and longer.  I still have that vest!  Notice how I’m the one the photographer put on the ground?

Duty calls.  Exhibit change waits for nobody.  I am also quite curious to see the storm damage in the park.  I am sure it’s quite a sight.

20 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

20 responses to “Breathe Again, Breathe Again

  1. We’ve never been either.
    Just glad that grant is done, the museum change is underway, and you have fun plans afterwords. I need to poke G to get back to Vegas…it’s time.

  2. Lynn Ringard

    Damn girl! Do you ever rest? I’m glad you’re taking some time off but happier yet that you weathered the storm intact. I would been surprised with an “Honorable Mention” in our upcoming outing. I feel like I totally scored with a bona fide credit! **Does happy dance** We have a lot of ground to cover on the 26th. Onward!!

  3. I hope the museum’s roof got fixed before this storm came through…

  4. poundheadhere

    I’m glad you wrapped up the grant application and have a bit more breathing room – and have some “you” time ahead!

  5. Patty O'

    What a FUN message! I needed that. Hope all is well at the Park today. We lost 9 trees at Mission Trails. Sigh.

    • poolagirl

      That’s a lot of trees!

      • Patty O'

        Yes, it is. I’ll learn more about what kind and where on Wednesday. I hope it wasn’t any of the babies that were planted in December. There are bits and pieces of trees and shrubbery everywhere on the roads today.

  6. Patti

    OMG! Remember our field trip to Salvation Mountain? What fun! Seeing the giant haboob on the way out there, the rain storm on the way back! Crazy stuff! Loved it. That little Mexican restaurant in Nyland…yum.
    Slab city! omg, Slab city, what an interesting place. The slabs are the remnants of an old WW2 Marine barracks, Camp Dudley. The Federal Gov’t still owns the land is not the least bit interested in it.

  7. I have seen that Salvation Mountain place on TV, crazy and fascinating! And what is that photographer putting you on the ground for? I should write a pointed letter! Obviously, you are The Star. Jeez.

  8. I’m so glad you have the Super Bowl trip to get some relaxation and people watch. I know you will have “interesting” adventues in the land that never sleeps.

  9. Penny Tushingham

    Wow, driving in Boston is a real challenge. Give me a car and NYC anytime. Boston has like 6 or 7 lights on their traffic lights and no one pays attention to any of them. It’s been many years since I drove in Boston but my guess is it’s still the same. Don’t panic, just laugh and you’ll do just fine.

    Pen Pen

Leave a comment