Just Shut Your Mouth!

Captain’s Log    6,129

People are funny.  One of my Facebook pals who lives in Iowa attended a Bernie Sanders event yesterday.  It was a small gathering, and she ended up standing right next to him.  And….CBS news covered it!  So there she was!  My friend on national TV news!

When I went to share this with someone in my office, I was greeted with all the reasons why Hillary Clinton would be a terrible president.  That was not the reason I shared the photos.  I was talking about my FRIEND being on NATIONAL NEWS.

I was amazed.  I was NOT looking for a fight or a debate.  I was trying to share a picture because it was neat for my friend.  She is a huge Bernie supporter, and this was a dream come true for her.  She posted that she hugged Bernie and his wife, but she was too slow on the mark to get a selfie.

Back to my co-worker……I was then told that if the election comes down to Trump and Clinton, this person simply will not vote.  Period.  End.  *raised voice and lots of gesturing wildly and flinging arms like a windmill*

I found my Zen.  Thank goodness I found my Zen.  I hope my answer was brilliant.  I said, “If you don’t vote, you can’t open your mouth and complain about anything presidential, right?”

There was agreement.  Yes.  Yes.  Yes.  No vote means no complaining.  *more raised voice and more adamant arm flinging*

I went on to say, “You know, I hope it DOES come down to Trump and Hillary.  For my sake.  Then you will keep your mouth shut for four whole years!”

______________________

I find it very interesting that people I know who supported Trump early on have slowly backed away.  At least I hope they have.  They are being very quiet about it.  I know how hard it is to admit you’re wrong.  So maybe if you don’t say anything people will forget that you aligned yourself with someone as nuts as Hitler.

______________________

Well, that’s it for now.  I was just informed we have an active shooter in Balboa Park.  Who knows what this will mean?  One of my staff was already at the museum and said police response is incredible.  The shooter is right in the flight path of the San Diego International Airport.  Now there is talk of diverting flights in case this nut job shoots at planes.

And THIS is why I hate guns and refuse to own one.

17 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

17 responses to “Just Shut Your Mouth!

  1. poundheadhere

    What an awesome win for your friend! I’m glad for her.

    If the election comes down to Clinton vs. Trump I will vote Clinton. I am 100% behind Bernie Sanders. I’d be at best about half that with Clinton. But I would vote for literally almost anyone who was running opposite Trump. He is a national travesty.

  2. I’m pleased as punch to announce that I was able to get my husband to register to vote in this election. He hasn’t voted in years and I’ve worked the Polls here for several years (resigned last year because we’re not usually here during election times so I vote by mail). A very happy camper that is all for Bernie!!!

  3. goatbarnwitch

    The election cycle is a great one for educating my 18 year old on the process. Can’t say I am liking it all that much though. Too many crazies involved

  4. maryz

    I must put in a word about casting votes for “Mickey Mouse” or some such. We used to be election officials – those nameless people who mechanically make it possible for votes to be cast, and who literally count them at the local precinct. We/they have to officially count every one of those Mickey Mouse votes, make a place for it on the tally sheet, set the rest of the ballot aside to count it separately, etc. It’s a real pain in the ass! I’ve been tempted at time to do that, but remember the extra work involved at the other end.

    Might I make an alternate proposal? If you can’t stand any of the candidates for a particular office, vote and mark your ballot for the races you will vote in. For that one, just leave it blank and don’t vote in that race. Actually, that takes a vote a way from each candidate. But definitely go to the polls and VOTE.

  5. Patty O'

    I am mystified by people who refuse to vote if they don’t like the choices. What good does THAT do? Our rights are precious and to passively surrender ones’ vote is beyond foolish.

  6. Penny Tushingham

    I personally find it better to keep politics out of conversations especially since I hate the whole concept of politics! But I will vote.

    Stay safe!

    Pen Pen

  7. I’m going with a write-in vote for Clayton Moore.

    Again.

  8. bholles

    Yes voice your choice.

  9. The upcoming election campaign with all its ugliness is causing many people to lost their cool. Last Friday night, when I was with my friends, I mentioned something about Sarah Palin on TV with Trump. One of my friends went off on how much she hates all the candidates and what our country is coming to. It’s a sad time when we vote for the one we dislike the least. But I will vote.

Leave a Reply

