Spaced Out

Captain’s Log   6,128

I took a day off from writing on Saturday.  I had to.  I took part of yesterday off to have breakfast with Mage and George (and Big Sister Mia).  I also worked my other job and ran errands before coming back to the salt mines.

I spoke with a friend about this grant last night.  She said other people in the park are having panic meltdowns over this damn thing.  I can see why.  I have never been asked to write thousands of words about how I define terms like “engagement” and “inclusivity.”  We also have to demonstrate that we have national press.  I don’t know how some of the smaller organizations will fare.  How does the little puppet theatre next door get national press?  They don’t.  They will be kicked out of the running for sure.

tot grant

14 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

14 responses to “Spaced Out

  1. You can do this — I have faith in you. Look at what you’ve accomplished for the Museum already. Hang tough and remain positive.

  2. susanna

    It’s heartening to hear how you are putting in the quality time that this project requires. Grants are very, very tricky to write.

  3. goatbarnwitch

    Competitive…. that is our world anymore and the parameters are based on the spotlight…. I hope your hard work is rewarded generously!

  4. I hope it all works out for you. Perhaps coloring some Steampunk pictures would give your brain a rest.

  5. Patty O'

    I’m sure you will be successful in the end, but you are right about some of the smaller venues. At least the Puppet Theater has its past history with Marie Hitchcock to fall back on and the 1990 Soviet-American cultural exchange when the Tblisi Puppets came to town. Just what is the POINT of demands for international relevance? That is nice, but no measure of an institution’s local value…

  6. poundheadhere

    Well it might be a challenge but it sounds like its 1) money (duh!) and 2) prestigious. I hope you survive the process and knock everybody’s socks off in the process!

  7. bholles

    Lets hope you get the grant.

Leave a Reply

