Citrus and Wee Birds

Captain’s Log    6,123

lemon-tree-674x276

New crop coming in!

I think it’s time for some fresh lemonade.  The recent rains have really helped ripen this crop.  They went from pale green to yellow in a matter of days.   It is most definitely time to break out the juicer again.

Several weeks ago, it was the oranges.

orange and carrot

Juiced with carrots for a lovely treat!

Citrus is one of the joys of living here.  The flowers alone are worth it.  The scent of orange and lemon blossoms is intoxicating!  I am very glad they also attract lots of bees.  I make an effort to have bee-friendly flowers everywhere.  With so many bees dying, it seems like a good idea.  Everything in my yard is 100% organic.  I don’t use pesticides on anything.  No rose dust.  Nothing.  It’s all natural and perfectly safe.

I had some bushes that attracted white fly.  So I dug them up and threw them away and replaced them with small palm trees that don’t harbor those pests.

I drive by the Balboa Park rose garden almost every day on my way home from work.  I was thinking about working as a volunteer gardener there when I retire.

rro

So gorgeous!

They have three professional gardeners and a crew of 30-35 volunteers to keep the gardens looking lovely.  I could really get into that!

The birds are ravenous this morning.  It’s been so cold at night.  I know that has a huge affect on the hummingbirds.  Those wee guys need lots of extra fuel just to stay warm.  I make their nectar solution a tiny bit stronger in the winter.

14 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

14 responses to “Citrus and Wee Birds

  1. I’m imagining the scent of the lemon tree and the flowers, I hear the birds chirping as they enjoy their food and the “whizzing” of the hummingbirds as they check out the nectar. But instead, I hear the howl of the wind and watch some snow flakes come down outside my window.

  2. Fresh lemons are amazing – looking forward to our lemon tree bearing fruit. It’s so important to keep bee-friendly gardens any more. I applaud you for providing a sanctuary for birds and bees at your home, and hope others pick up your practice

  3. susanna

    I loved reading this one. It’s like having a magic garden. The way gardens should be. I just finished eating some baklava and felt very guilty that I wasn’t drinking the lemon/carrot drink. It sounds like a great combo. I’ll try it soon.

  4. I do miss the citrus — especially our Washington Navel orange tree. We buy our oranges from Johnston farms at $6 for 10 lbs. Fresh off the trees, they’re excellent and I always bring some to the kids when we come to San Diego, or to neighbors in AZ when we go over for the winter. Love it!
    I too thought of volunteering at the rose garden there in Balboa Park. I had 49 hybrid tea rose bushes lining our front yard. Gorgeous…

  5. Patty O'

    I LOVE the concept of you being a volunteer gardener in the park! It is such a meaningful endeavor. YAY, you!

  6. Edie

    You are good for the preservation of our earth. Thank you.

  7. Carrie

    I want to be you when I grow up or now whichever!! xxxxoooo

Leave a Reply

