My Home Office

Captain’s Log  6,122

I have the pleasure of working from home again today.  I am so grateful.  I have been doing museum-related stuff non-stop since December 26th.  Enough already.  I even have a day off scheduled for tomorrow!  Wahoo!

Friend Sally and I are going to a surprise potluck tomorrow afternoon for a mutual friend who has been undergoing treatment for colon cancer.  She has no idea this is happening.  It will be fun.  We are all decking out in royal blue clothing to celebrate her recovery.  She is one of the sweetest people I know.

Book club on Sunday.  I pick the next book.  This is my choice.

wolves

It is 1987, and only one person has ever truly understood fourteen-year-old June Elbus — her uncle, the renowned painter Finn Weiss. Shy at school and distant from her older sister, June can only be herself in Finn’s company.  He is her godfather, confidant, and best friend. So when he dies of a mysterious illness (AIDS) her mother can barely speak about, June’s world is turned upside down. But Finn’s death brings a surprise acquaintance into June’s life — someone who will help her to heal, and to question what she thinks she knows about Finn, her family, and even her own heart.

The reviewers seem to like it.  I think it’s light enough to please the group.  They have not really liked any of my picks.  This will be my 5th one.  They did NOT get Jenny Lawson’s work at all.  In fact, one of the ladies said she wanted to throw the book into the fireplace.  Jenny Lawson has just been named Amazon’s best humorist of the year.

lawfun

I would not even attempt this, her second book.  This one continues to win award after award.  Big Sister Mia and I both loved it.  But, we are odd.

swamplandia

They didn’t like this one either.  One of my friends is in a different club and they read this book.  They thought it was their best pick of the year.

You just never know.  This club serves a purpose for me right now.  It’s more social than bookish, but that’s okay.  We always meet for breakfast and that has opened up a whole new world for me in terms of eggs and stuff.  At least it’s better than the club leader who wanted to see my CV and Mensa score.  Asshat!

I wish this group met in private homes.  I would serve cherry beer and cream cheese horse doovers.  It would be ever so civilized.  But no.  We eat in restaurants where it can be loud and pushy, but nobody is stuck doing dishes.   But……if they won’t do separate checks…..OH MY GOD!  We have one in the group who strokes out and splits the bill down to the penny.  I have never seen her leave more than $1 tip either.  One of those.   And downloading a book for $1.99 on Kindle?  Are you kidding??? She drives all over the city to find a copy in the library rather than simply click and read.  Makes no sense to me.  I really like her.  Don’t get me wrong.  But she is SOOOO cheap!

cheap

Ugh

Well, enough.  Time to get back to the grant.  Ugh again.

14 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

14 responses to “My Home Office

  1. It may be social, but are you sure you like the members? Those selections all sound wonderful. I’m still working my way through Crais and almost on to Craig….who I am furious with because he died on his devoted readers.

  2. I hope your book club shares a better view on this book than your previous attempts. Comedies are always a question mark – humor is so personal.

  3. Tell the Wolves I’m Home is a good choice. I really liked it and it would be thought provoking enough to make for a good discussion for a book club. Hope you enjoy it.

  4. bholles

    Do you have that book or do I need to get it?

  5. Sally Vangorkom

    Your MENSA score? Really? Well, la-dee-dah!

  6. We can be the best of friends but have different book choices. I don’t often read humorous stories. I prefer stories about generations of families or mysteries. I don’t care for the traditional love stories either…I guess that just hurts my heart these days. I used to love the bloody evil themes a long time ago. I’m thinking maybe I like to read things that would never happen in my real world?
    Hope your club enjoys the book selection this time. So glad you are home and can enjoy the quiet time too.

Leave a Reply

