Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Captain’s Log    6,114

The fun never ceases.  I would love for time to spring forward until around March or so.

I am just overwhelmed with all the things I have to do.   Looking at 12 working days days in a row the Monday after Christmas is NOT fun.  Plus, I have to edit all the narrative material for the upcoming exhibit and write a huge grant that runs about 40 pages or so.  All of that is due the third week of January.   Somewhere in there I am hoping to squeeze in a one-day business trip to North Carolina (taking the red eye, doing the meeting, and flying back the very same day).

There is no such thing as “slow season” at the museum.  It gets pretty wearing.  It also takes a lot of stamina and a lot of ability to not get overly affected by bullshit and drama.  But I am ramping up to end my time there.  It won’t be long.  Nudging closer every day.

retirement

Yay!  Just around the bend.

The board will have ample time to find someone.  I was very lucky (or was I lucky?) to get offered the job from within.  That is so very rare in the museum world.  I was only offered the job because I had been running the place for two years before the change happened.  The other guy was never there.  He would come in early (7:30 AM and be out attending “meetings” for the rest of the day).  I did it all.  I wrote the grants and  the grant reports, managed the events. did the marketing, handled the daily operations, settled disputes, managed all board communications, managed the volunteer program, edited narrative copy, handled all the printing of materials, did tours, taught summer camp, etc.  I was on-site Monday-Friday for at least 9-10 hours a day.  If we had weekend events, I did those too (without being allowed to adjust my week for a day off to make up for it).   So when they were looking for someone who understood the complexity and challenges of running a museum, I was right there.  Because they needed to make a decision quickly, I was the obvious choice.  If they had more time, I am sure they would have done a search for someone with executive museum management experience.

I really made a lot of mistakes.  But I also had some major triumphs.  I flipped the culture of the place completely – from a showroom of expensive cars to a place where people can connect with the history and stories of the vehicles.

It has been a journey.  It is not my best work.  Not by a long shot.  I did my best work at a large church where I was in charge of Youth Ministry and Community Development.   That was a job where I could really use my people skills to bring that church to a higher level of service.  The minister also allowed me to do as much theatre as I wanted with both kids and adults.  With a large community of over 800 people, I was in heaven.  I loved getting in the car every day and driving over to see what was going to be the next challenge or celebration.  This job does not have that kind of appeal.  This job is just that.  It’s a job.  I don’t hate it.  But I am not completely engaged.  I hold a huge part of myself back because of politics, funding, etc.  Being under the public microscope is really not much fun.

So I will get there.  Slow and steady wins the race.

21 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

21 responses to “Slow and Steady Wins the Race

  1. susanna

    Sadie, Sadie, retired lady: I know of no one who has so many possibilities/choice/projects/dreams and the talent/ability/imagination/smarts to bring them to fruition as you. Can’t wait to see what your retirement brings.
    Don’t retire the HMS Pie Rat.. Whatever would I do with my retirement if you did?

  2. Personally, I think you were a wonderful choice for the museum director. Bravo for them choosing you. Thank you again for the presents. Lots of unmarked goodies under the tree, but I can guess. Hugs.

  3. Stephanie

    Retirement rocks! And I’m really good at it! 🙂

  4. Joanie

    Hang in! The end is near. And it’s only the beginning of a brand new life, which I know you’ll love.

  5. Oh, good for you! You’re going to love the freedom of retirement and wonder how you ever got as much accomplished as you did when you worked. Retirement is wonderful!

  6. carrie duff

    Yes, it certainly does my friend. So much love and respect i have for you, having a very difficult time conveying my thoughts and feelings. I will truly miss you.
    This will end, i know you will follow your heart, your dreams and passions.

  7. Patty O"

    Beautiful stones need to be polished and it is by definition an abrasive process. You will be BRILLIANT when you are done.

  8. Terri Tinkel

    I’m so glad there is an end in sight for you. Then you will be connected to all the joyful things you are wishing to do.

  9. I found it! I understand exactly what you mean – I was feeling the same way before leaving my job. It had become largely meaningless to me and I really checked out long before I left. I know you don’t have much longer to go, and suspect the powers that be won’t appreciate what they had until you’re gone. I don’t envy you the grinding hours along the way. *Hugs*

Leave a Reply

