Egg Machine!

Captain’s Log  6,096

Anneke and Bert are attending a homeowner’s association meeting tonight, and I am left to my own devices in their house.   I tried to send my sister an Excel file but I don’t think I was successful.  She emailed it to me but Anneke’s computer is in Dutch.  That made things really hard to figure out.  Plus I think she is running Windows 8.  Something that is way beyond my skill level.

I am having a wonderful time, but since this is not my computer and I can’t really understand most of the commands and I am doing some serious guessing, I cannot upload new photos.

amersfoort 2

Old photo of the City of Amersfoort

The weather has been perfect and the hospitality has been outstanding!  I took a walk with Bert today and we checked out a vending machine that dispenses fresh eggs!  You could get 10, 20, 0r 30 eggs.  Cheap and right off the farm.  The chickens that laid those eggs were running all over the place in the back.  What a sweet deal.

There are a lot of sweet deals in the Netherlands.  Cheap cheese, fresh eggs, intelligent people, good beer (so I have been told), and wonderful chocolate.  I bought my take-away chocolate yesterday.  Really nice stuff.  I thought I had spent about 50 Euros.  In reality, it came to only $22 Euros.  That same candy is $4 a bar in the U.S.

I had better get off this machine before I figure out a way to screw it up.

13 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

13 responses to “Egg Machine!

  1. Fresh eggs by the 10, 20 or 30 eggs?? No dozens–12, 18 or flats of 2 1/2 or 5 doz ala CostCo? Strange…

  2. Patty O"

    I am struggling with the thought of needing 30 eggs at one time. Then my mind leapt to QUICHE by the TON…with all that good cheese available, why not? See what else you can find to confound us, please!

  3. poundheadhere

    I loved seeing the egg machine too – and how awesome to get them fresh for that price!

    • poolagirl

      No hormones. No cruelty.

      • Pssst. There are no hormones in US eggs. It’s illegal to give hormones to poultry nation wide, for both egg AND meat production. But companies often put “Hormone Free!” on their packages to make you think otherwise, so you’ll buy their brand over those NOT labeled hormone free. It would be like buying a loaf of bread with the words “WE don’t use metal filings!” on the wrapper, implying other bakeries do.

  4. So glad you are having a good time.

  5. So glad to see you. Loved the egg machine. 🙂

Leave a Reply

