Going to Amersfoort

Captain’s Log    6,094

One more sleep!  I am beside myself with glee!  This vacation could not be coming at a better time.  New York is expected to have rain storms tomorrow and there might be flight delays.  I certainly hope that doesn’t happen!  I just want to get there!

If all goes as planned, I will arrive just before 11:00 Thursday morning.  Getting luggage and clearing customs takes about another 30 minutes or so.  Anneke and Bert will be waiting near the customs exit.  YAY!  I will get there just in time for lunch and a good nap.  I think if I sleep a few hours I will be good to go.

I don’t care where we go.  I don’t care what we do.  I just want to be there.  In Amersfoort.

amersfoort 2

Oh yes!  Turrets!

amersfoort 3

Winding streets with shops!

I cannot wait to be surrounded by charm and history – and the great company of my friends who are always so gracious and kind.

And no, I do not go to the Netherlands to get stoned.  I don’t smoke….anything.  Americans have such a distorted view of the Netherlands…especially Amsterdam.  When I say I am flying into Amsterdam, people raise their eyebrows and carry on like I am some sort of drug addict.  That’s like saying if you go to Wisconsin you are only going there to buy cheese.

I have a busy day at the office before I go.  Better get cracking!

24 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

24 responses to “Going to Amersfoort

  1. susanna

    Just opened this. Have an amazing time. I know you will. All that charm, history and calm will be so good for your soul but you know that for sure! Enjoy the food and your lovely friends. Yay!

  2. Have a wonderful visit with your special friends. I know you will have great flights. Waving, waving. 🙂

  3. goatbarnwitch

    Safe travels and may time move slowly while you are there 😀

  4. Valerie

    It looks so charming! Is this in Friesland??
    You’ll have a great time, I’m sure!

  5. Have fun…take lots of pictures!!

  6. ned

    We love Amsterdam and have never been into a brown cafe. The museums are fantastic and the food has always been superb. Have fun.

  7. Patty O"

    Have a wonderful time both resting and exhausting, peaceful and exciting. Take lots of notes and lots of photos and eat everything! Can hardly wait for tales of adventure!

  8. Edie

    It sounds like you are ready to have a great time. Have a safe trip and enjoy the time you will be sharing with your friends.

  9. Patti

    Safe journey, my friend!

  10. annanotbob

    Veilige reis xx

  11. joanie

    Get cracking???

  12. bholles

    You will have a great time.

Leave a Reply

