Photo Credit!

Captain’s Log    6,094

Wheeeee!  They really printed my photo as the cover for the magazine!  Wheee!

  magazine cover

Yay!  Not bad for an iPhone!

I owe a lot of this to Facebook.  I posted the photo the day I took it.  I was merely walking back to my car from a meeting and I thought the reflecting pond looked marvelous.  I did frame it but that’s about it.  I just snapped it and never even looked until I got back to my office.  I loaded it up and that was that.

A day later, Gina (one of the owners of the magazine who is a Facebook friend  AND a real-life friend), saw the photo and asked permission to use it for the 4th quarter cover.  Are you kidding me????  I almost fainted!  I sent over the high-resolution version and that was that.  A few weeks later she asked me how I wanted the credit line to read.

credit

And there you have it!

Wow!  Two big winning events for this pirate captain in less than a week.  I hope this type of good fortune runs in 3’s.  I think winning the lottery would also be nice.  Or maybe I will find a 1,000,000 Euros in the airport bathroom in Amsterdam.  Anything can happen.

_________________________________

I also had a good board meeting yesterday.  It helps when you have a good board.  They approved the purchase of two of these.

fans

Enormous ceiling fans specifically designed to cool large areas.  The name of the company is Big Ass Fans.  Hilarious!

These puppies are not cheap.  Installed, they are $7,000 apiece.  The upside is you can reverse them and they will bring down warm air in the winter.  It’s a lot cheaper than installing HVAC in a 25,000 square foot building with ceilings that are 25 feet high.  A LOT cheaper.  Just installing the proper wiring for HVAC would cost $40,000.

_______________________________

It’s going to take some time to adjust to the new mouth guard.  It’s not as comfortable as I thought it would be.  Plus, I woke up with a nasty headache that went away within minutes of removing the appliance.  Might have to make another trip to the dentist when I get back from my trip.

_______________________________

SIX MORE SLEEPS UNTIL I LEAVE!

heinous Bag

Heinous is packed and ready to go.  He has his very own carry-bag.  It was a free gift when I signed up for AARP a few years ago.  He loves it. He has no idea it was free.  If he knew that, he might not love it so much.

16 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

16 responses to “Photo Credit!

  1. Outstanding!!! Awesome photo… congratulations! You should contact your friend and ask for a new copy… and you should frame that cover!!

  2. George said, “Halleluia!!!!” I say WOW, and you all will love the results.

  3. joanie

    What a beautiful photograph. Oddly enough, I think I had that same mag when Dave’s brother and family were here a couple of months ago and gave it to them so they could find places to go. The photo immediately looked familiar to me, but I’ve seen the pond so many times.. Is it possible that it was out that long ago? If I’d seen the credit to you I would have never parted with it! I can’t wait to talk to you tomorrow when you come in!

  4. That’s so seriously awesome! You’re a terrific photographer though. You understand composition instinctively – something not everyone does. You have every right to be proud 😀

    Glad to see the fans, too. After this summer (and the sad reality of global warming) it sounds like a much-needed addition.

  5. Patty O"

    You’re on a roll! I hope #3 is a humdinger.

  6. Penny Tushingham

    Awesome fans, they will make a huge difference.

    Pen Pen

  7. I’m wondering what the airport security thinks when they see Heinous…..hope he behaves himself. Love the big ass fans….I bet that will make it much more comfortable in the museum for everyone!

  8. bholles

    Hope you have an extra copy of the magazine for me.

Leave a Reply

