I Can See My House From Up Here!

Captain’s Log   6,083

It’s a big day for us at the museum.  It’s show change time!  That means we get a jug lift!

jug lift

Up in the air, Junior Bird Man!

We use this to take down the high stuff and put up new high stuff.  We also change and focus the exhibit lighting for the new displays.   I rode in the lift once and it was quite thrilling.  It sort of bounces and that takes some adjustment so you don’t think you are going to crash to your death.  Other than that, it is really fun.

_________________________

I got home last night and immediately changed into some stupid shorts and a grey tank t-shirt.  I kept on my black socks so I could look like a German tourist.  As I was busy cutting up some potatoes for dinner, there was a knock at the door.  There was a guy standing there, dressed in orange and holding a clipboard.  He saw me.  So I had to answer the door.  In my lovely outfit.

He was with a group that had painted new house numbers on our curbs.  So the pizza guys can find your house after dark and stuff.  They do it every 2-3 years.  AFTER they paint the numbers, they go around and ask for donations.  The suggested amount is $15 and it all goes to a charity to feed hungry people.  They are totally legitimate.

 canning hunger

Guys who paint new numbers on our curbs.  The guy who came to see me was the fellow on the lower left holding the paper.  He actually looks a bit like Sam Elliott.  I was dying.

I stepped away from the door to look for $15.  I did not have $15 so I gave him $20.  I just wanted to get out of the whole interaction….standing there in my awful shorts, grey tank t-shirt, and black socks.  He was very kind and said he could prepare a form for my taxes.  I said no no no.  That was fine.   I really just wanted him to step away from my house so I could go about my business being a badly-dressed super nerd.  He did.  I was happy.  And now I have a snazzy new house number painted on my curb.

Guess I need to order a pizza.

24 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

24 responses to “I Can See My House From Up Here!

  1. LOLOLOL….oh, this is priceless.
    Books? Lunch, Dinner, Drive by?
    Your not so humble friend……….

  2. susanna

    Sam Elliot? You got the pick of the pack. And so did he but he may not have known that.

  3. poundheadhere

    My favorite is still my BIL. He answered the door nude when it was Jehovah’s Witnesses at the door. To the best of my knowledge there hasn’t been another religious knocker at their door.

  4. LOL. Reminds me of the time one of our insurance adjusters had made an appointment on a claim. The woman answered the door NUDE! Adjuster quickly left the scene.

  5. You should do stand up, in your snazzy outfit, socks and all. Did you know coffee hurts coming out your nose? Still laughing. ……..

  6. I don’t have a curb. Or a driveway. Or anyone that paints numbers for charity. So I can wear horrible outfits any old time.

  7. joanie

    Hilarious!! At least you didn’t have bed head! He probably would have ran away. I once had to answer the door with a drying egg white on my face, I had read that it would tighten the skin so of course, I had to try it. I apologized for my appearance and his response was “Lady, have you ever seen what eggs do to the paint on a car??? After he left I washed it off immediately.,

  8. Not many men can pull off black socks with shorts. Good on ya.

  9. Penny Tushingham

    You should have taken a selfie with him. Would have been a nice addition to your collection.

    I promise, he has probably seen far worse than you think you looked!

    Pen Pen

  10. bholles

    i bet you were really cute.

Leave a Reply

