Safe in the Harbor

Captain’s Log      6,063

safe ships

We have all been given passage on a ship.  We have all been given command of this cosmic ship.  The test comes down to willingness.  How willing are we to set sail into a sea that may appear calm but harbor unknown misfortunes?

The sea is full of misfortune.  That is why it is the duty of a good captain to know where to sail and when to divert course.

I know so many people who think they are safe because they keep their ship in port.  Their ship never ventures out to sea.  They simply “live aboard” and think the status quo is good enough.

Little do they know that when a big storm arises and their ship is tied to the dock, they run a huge risk of losing it all.  If a ship is too close to the dock in high winds, it will smash into thousands of pieces.  The ship stands a far better chance of weathering the storm if it is sailing head into the wind.

Interesting thing about sailing.  You are safer when you head INTO the wind.  When you put your bow TOWARD the storm, you have a far better chance of sailing through it.  Sails are designed that way.  The more you sail into the wind, the faster you go.

So I agree and disagree with the photo above.  Your ship IS indeed safe at harbor……for awhile.  Harboring a ship means staying long enough to rest and resupply.  Large ships were built for the sea.  And so are our souls.

Yup.  Once again I am using a big metaphor to make a point.  It bothers me when I see people content to toss anchor in a harbor and never raise sails again.  It bothers me to see people give up command of their own destiny and turn their ship over to someone else.  Or to allow it to become a ship of fools.

I would rather be lost at sea than smashed into the docks during a storm.  At least I can say I died trying.

 

16 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

16 responses to “Safe in the Harbor

  1. I think you will find your blog audience returning when you post often.
    And too, staying tied up in port all the time is boring.

  2. Sometimes, after a long and difficult “voyage”, it is nice to stay in port and regroup again. But you never know where the wind will blow your ship….

  3. Joanie Benson

    Nice analogy. I’m afraid sometimes I ‘rest and resupply’ too much. I blame it on age but apathy shows up far too often. Like if something seems too hard or scary I give up more easily than I used to. You have a way of making me want to raise the sails a little more often. The thrill of victory is way better than the agony of defeat.

  4. Patty O"

    That was beautiful. I have sailed my ship into the wind as often as possible and have remained in port when my duties lay ashore. I never reached some of my destinations Some I never will but others are still attainable. I have learned that wind in your face feels GOOD and better than that, I am UNSINKABLE.

  5. Sally Vangorkom

    “She stood in the wind and when the wind did not blow her away, she adjusted her sails”.- Elizabeth Edwards

  6. Does this ship have a buffet?

  7. bholles

    I totally agree with you.

Leave a Reply

