Reggae Inuit Man and Other Stuff

Captain’s Log   6,048

Coming up for air.  Breathe!

I simply cannot WAIT to get on the plane next Friday and get the hell out of San Diego for a few days.  Unless I am at least 200 miles from home, I feel like I am close enough to still be working.  Silly me.  I will be flying Alaska Airlines.  The guy on the tail fin looks a lot like Bob Marley to me.

alaska

Reggae Inuit Man!

I’ve been to Portland before.  Twice, I think.  I used to work for a training company that sent us there to teach people how to deal with the oddballs in their company.  We taught managers how to accept and embrace those who don’t view the world with a corporate mind-set.  How to use these weirdos to their great advantage and make the company stronger.

I was that very person in the company.  I was fired by those who taught others about dealing with people like me because they didn’t want people like me in their company.  I find that so very strange.  How do you spell   h-y-p-o-c-r-i-t-e?

I have been fired several times for being the person in the group who just is too damn strange.  I am not strange.  I don’t sit around and talk to the walls.  I don’t put my feet on the desk.  I don’t fart without provocation.  But I have been known to dance in the hall (to my own music that only I can hear).  I have also made pirate hats out of newspaper and yelled YARRRR to people who walk into my office (but only on National Talk Like a Pirate Day).  I don’t think I should have been fired for those things, but I was.  Three times, in fact.  Always by people who told me how much they loved my free-spirited sense of creativity.  Big fat liars.

I have a warning about that.  I have known a lot of men who told me they wanted a wife who was independent and strong-willed.  And then they married a wife like that and….too hard!  They cannot handle a woman with that kind of spunk and sass.  The same is true for people who profess to love creative thinkers.  It sounds easier than it is.  I manage a creative team at my museum, and to corporate types, it must appear to be some sort of madhouse.  But I spent my formative years in creative environments.  I was a musician, fer crissakes!  I traveled around the upper Midwest in a station wagon for almost 15 years.  I have been an actor and a director.  I “get” the process.  But it is not for everyone.  People who need adherence to the rules should never hire someone who thinks out of the box.  Ever.  It may sound like fun, but once the honeymoon phase is over, most managers cannot wait to get rid of challenging, honest people.

So Portland is just what I need.  I wish I was leaving tomorrow and staying for a month.  But alas….

portland

Soon!  I will be there soon!

 

15 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

15 responses to “Reggae Inuit Man and Other Stuff

  1. purplygems

    Have a great time in Portland!

  2. annanotbob

    In my twenties I married not one, not even two, but THREE men (consecutively, not all at once, I hasten to add),who each liked how I was until I we were wed and they weren’t putting up with that shit from “my wife”. I know, I was a slow learner. Happy holiday! xx

  3. Don’t forget to go to Powell’s Books. Visit the rail way station too. 🙂

  4. I hope you have a magnificent time and help the other weirdos there learn to do it with pizzazz!!!!..

  5. bholles

    You will have a fun trip and hopefully come back refreshed.

  6. Patty O"

    Good to hear from you, Pirate Ma’am! Everything you said is true. We all need to learn just when to follow the rules and when to break them. Not always easy. Or possible. So get out of town and blow the stink off for a few days. Portland is far enough for that.

  7. Remind me not to provoke you.

Leave a Reply

