Poof Into the Ethers

Captain’s Log   6,042

I am quickly approaching my 12th anniversary as an online journalist.  Next to playing music professionally, this is the longest time I have ever done anything.  Five more weeks and I will reach this milestone.  There are times I have my doubts about continuing and I stop for a few days.  But something always draws me back.  When I first started in the Diaryland community, there were hundreds of people doing this.  Now, not so much.  Facebook has basically killed the writing form.  Post a funny picture and say a few words and you have connected with the world.

Not very many people even take the time to read this page anymore.  Not like before.  Not like the days when we couldn’t wait to get online and read about all the things and thoughts regarding our friends.

I met a lot of people through my online writing.  I used to know the actual numbers, but now I have to guess.  Somewhere around 20 or so.  There are conferences now for women who blog.  The organization is called BlogHer.  And the content is usually about summer recipes, eyeliner, and why it might be a good thing to have a Disney season pass.  That isn’t going to work for me.  The conference this year is in New York.  $600 plus airfare and hotel.  If you have a corporate sponsor, the fee is $900 (and the sponsor pays).  Gosh, I checked my schedule and too bad so sad.  I am going to be in Portland during that time…..with a blogging friend I met online!  We will have our very own teeny little conference out on her patio over an adult beverage.

I really do miss the community of online writers who used to really participate with this type of journal writing.  We supported each other.  We stayed connected.  And now…..almost poof into the ethers.

 

28 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

28 responses to “Poof Into the Ethers

  1. poundheadhere

    I write rarely these days and I know it. To be fair, my life now is a huge departure from what it was in my DL days. If/when I retire, maybe. Until then it’ll remain the grudging few words eeked out in the maudlin hope of resurrecting a small following. I think they’re dead, Jim, lol.

  2. The Knitting Cinephile

    I admit that I’m caught up in the Facebook thing, and that i’ve neglected the blog off and on. I want to regain the fire I used to have when a lot of us were on Diaryland together. I used to be funny. You even said so once, Poolie. 🙂

  3. goatbarnwitch

    I would love to have the time to blog regularly but life is sucking the life out of me. I love the folks I have met via blogging and I still read those who have kept up with the attention and enthusiasm that kept blogging so vibrant during the pre- facebook days. Keep it up!

  4. Ter

    I got my start at D-land too. It was my escape from the monotony and stuck-ness I was feeling. I think I started to really lose the need for the blog when I met my husband; I was so closed off and throwing thoughts out into the ether was my way of feeling validated or important or… something. I miss it often but my life is so drastically different from when I started (late 2001? Early 2002? Who remembers?) that try as I might to reinvent myself, I can never stick with it for too long. I’m just so drained when I get the urge to blog and when I’ve got the time, I just don’t care. I love reading blogs, though, and yours is one I’ve read for quite some time; think I jumped on the bandwagon right before you transitioned to WP. As long as you keep writing, I’ll keep reading!

  5. Patty O"

    Blogs seem to be the sole repository of the long tradition of letter writing, only a blog is not intended for a single reader. So hurray for the bloggers who share their words, wits, and wisdom with us. Long may they all wave! Especially you, Poolie. OK, you, too, Dangerspouse.

  6. I look for your post every day and miss it when it’s not there. Keep it up!!!

  7. Penny Tushingham

    I read you blog every day and miss it when you don’t write!

    Pen Pen

  8. Looking at Facebook always reminds me of the last line of Roethke’s poem “Dolor”: “Glazing the pale hair, the duplicate grey standard faces.” Dolor indeed, what passes for “writing” in the world of FB and Twitter. Bless you for continuing to fight the good fight. (One of my other favorite blogs, besides yours of course, defiantly has the motto “Brevity Is For The Weak” emblazoned across the top. I’ve often considered stealing it for my own bloviation-fest.)

  9. maryz

    Well, there are a few of us still out here. 8^)

Leave a Reply

