Anti-Red Hat Lady

Captain’s Log   6,039

I seriously need a break from the hum drum of my existence.  I know the Portland trip will be here soon, but not soon enough.  It’s almost five weeks away.

I also need a cotton bathrobe for summer.  Microfiber is nice but it’s hot as Hades.  I think the person who developed it was trying to figure out how to bake potatoes without an oven.  Gads!  Nice for cold evenings but not so nice for summer lounging.  Guess it’s off to Amazon Prime to find something.

________________

Back in day, I was moved by the books about old ladies wearing purple.  Then I saw my first group of Red Hat Ladies.  I was on a tour bus with Big Sister Mia to go to some event in the area, and we stopped at a park and drive area along the way and picked up about 15 red hatters.

reed haz

Oh gads, NO!

I decided right then and there that I would never join a group that celebrates menstrual status.  Ever!  As much as I love headgear, I am NOT going to wear a red hat!  In addition to being totally strange, they also drank like sailors on that bus.  They had coolers full of wine.  By the time we got where we were going, the “reddies” were half in the bag.  Not my idea of fun.

AARP jumped all over my ass the second I turned 50.  Thank goodness these women are not that organized.

I am more lone wolf as I celebrate my eccentric post-menopausal era.

Crazy woman wearing a metal colander for a helmet

Poolie in the woods someday.  Wearing a “GPS” tracking device on her head.

Much more my style.  And it doesn’t require a bus ride with a cooler of wine.

The salt mines beckon.

14 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

14 responses to “Anti-Red Hat Lady

  1. poundheadhere

    I thought the RHS sounded interesting, but I can’t see myself being part of it. I don’t guzzle anything alcoholic in appreciable quantities (half a glass of wine is usually my limit – don’t want more than that.) I tend to be more subdued in my festivities overall. Not that I don’t have a wicked sense of humor; it’s just that if they hear you coming, you lose the element of surprise, bwahahaha!

  2. Joanie Benson

    What do they DO? anyway? I don’t have the guts to google them. They might somehow nab my e-mail address and then I’d have to kill myself.

  3. goatbarnwitch

    Angela Lansbury with a Colander on her head meets steam punk look….. 😉

  4. I think the Red Hat Ladies’s concept is interesting but I am not one who likes a lot of attention which purple and red attire would cause. Therefore, I abstain! Check out Woman Within.com for clothes. They have some nice short sleeved cotton robes…I have about 3 of them.

  5. Ter

    Not all Red Hatters are wine-a-holics (Mom’s group wasn’t). But, the whole matchy-matchy thing is weird. I pushed her to it just for the social aspect. Turns out she couldn’t take them. Maybe bad match (ha!), not sure. It’s certainly not for everyone and you’re the last person I’d guess would sign up for their ranks!

  6. Patty O"

    I can SO see you out in the woods wearing a sieve for a hat! But yours would have a REAL GPS unit attached.

Leave a Reply

