Blessedly Simply Weekend

Captain’s Log   6,033

It was a weekend with no pressure whatsoever.  I went to San Juan Capistrano with my friend, Pam, on Saturday.  She got very ill while we were coming home.  Probably some sort of massive cold.  I have not felt sick at all.  Thinking I am probably in the clear.  A severe cold is making the rounds here in San Diego.  I have had two staffer bees down with it so far.  Hoping for the best.

Capistrano is gorgeous but it doesn’t tell the unsettling history of what really happened there.  3,000 +  Indians (called neophytes) are buried in mass graves behind the church.  The space is very small, and that is really indicative of how much care and reverence those people were granted when laid in the ground.

Father Serra was a Spanish sadist.   All in the name of God.  Forcing people into slavery, beatings, mutilations, executions.  All in the name of God.  Make me sick.

serra saves

Statue that illustrates the “salvation” of the Indian people who lived near the place where the mission was built.  Gag me.

I read an entire book yesterday.  I was great!

rosie project

Hilarious story of a very OCD genetics researcher who attempts to find his perfect wife by crafting a perfect questionnaire/survey that is, of course, impossible.  There is more to the story than that, but I laughed out loud several times.  We had wanted to read this for our book club this month, but all 48 copies in the library were checked out so we changed the selection.  I ordered this one through the library system and it arrived last week.  Really funny.

I get to pick the selection for June, and I have chosen this.

swamplandia

Thirteen-year-old Ava Bigtree has lived her entire life at Swamplandia!, her family’s island home and gator-wrestling theme park in the Florida Everglades. But when illness fells Ava’s mother, the park’s indomitable headliner, the family is plunged into chaos; her father withdraws, her sister falls in love with a spooky character known as the Dredgeman, and her brilliant big brother, Kiwi, defects to a rival park called The World of Darkness. As Ava sets out on a mission through the magical swamps to save them all, we are drawn into a lush and bravely imagined debut that takes us to the shimmering edge of reality.

They didn’t like the last two books I chose.  Peace Like a River by Leif Enger (about a mystical family chasing cowboy renegades –  the dad can actually walk off the back of pickup truck and not crash to the ground – way cool) and Let’s Pretend This Never Happened (a memoir about growing up in a weird family with a father who loved to place his taxidermied experiments around the house for fun).   My club tends to be more traditional, but some of them actually read the books I choose.  Well, 2-3 of them read the books.  The rest offer really odd excuses about why they don’t have time to read.  I think they come along for the fun and the French toast platters.  Big Sister Mia is scheduled to pick a book for July, but since she only reads books about serial killers, this could be challenging for her as well.

I do my laundry every week (usually on Sunday).  I am always amazed for find 10-12 underpants in the wash when it’s only been 7 days.  I cannot recall changing my underwear so many times.  I think it might be aliens fucking with me.

25 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

25 responses to “Blessedly Simply Weekend

  1. http://articles.latimes.com/1987-09-13/local/me-7768_1_san-fernando-mission
    You led me on a little San Juan odyssey this morning, friend, lol… I’m really struggling to understand how the news reporters continue to find actual Indian descendants to DEFEND Serra, and to support his beatification… sigh… and Pope FRANCIS, I was holding so much hope in this dude for progressive reform… So much hope…. Instead we get this:

    “In order to be canonized, a candidate must have performed two “miracles.” The first ascribed to Serra was his healing of a lupus patient who had prayed to him. Galvan said the pope aided Serra’s cause by declaring Serra’s life’s work to be the second miracle.

    Last weekend, Francis celebrated a Mass in Serra’s honor at the main U.S. seminary in Rome. That followed two days of academic conferences organized by the Vatican and the archdiocese of Los Angeles to counter claims against Serra and to present him as a defender of Native Americans.”

    Repulsive.

  2. poundheadhere

    It’s the inverse effect of the dryer eating your socks. The laundry basket uses the power of quantum mechanics to convert them into dirty underwear.

  3. Joanie Benson

    Re: Laundry. It’s ok if you can’t remember how many times you changed your underwear this week. Now if you said you couldn’t remember IF you changed your underwear this week it could be a problem.

  4. Patty O"

    Dandruff? Oh no, Dangerspouse is on a tear…

  5. I’d rather have 10-12 pairs in the weekly wash than only 1 or 2! LOL

  6. Ter

    Based on description alone, I just added The Rosie Project to my Audible wish list. Can’t wait until payday to try it out!

  7. George does the laundry every few days, and I find I wear the same 3 to 4 pair every week. Boring.
    There’s a new Oliver Sacks book out.

  8. 10 – 12 pairs in 7 days? I think you need to take out the word “with”.

  9. bholles

    It will be tough for me to pick a book. Maybe they will like a serial killer book.

Leave a Reply

