Itchy Feet….Again!

Captain’s Log    6,027

I  Skyped with my pal, Anneke this morning.  She and her husband have moved to a new city that has a lot of charm and history.  I have been invited to visit them in the fall.  I am certainly going to try!

amersfoort

Amersfoort.  A medieval city more than 750 years old!  

Anneke and Bert are going to New York in September.  They plan to tour around a bit and end up in Washington DC.  Sounds like a lovely trip!

So now it’s just a matter of figuring out when I can go.  I am already looking at ticketing options during the month of October.  I can fly through Minneapolis, Detroit,  or Atlanta on KLM.  They all give me 80-90 minutes to change planes and walk around a bit.  I think that’s a good idea, especially for someone with legs as long as mine.  It’s also a lot cheaper to fly out of San Diego than to add a hopper to Los Angeles and fly directly from there.

Itchy feet!   I have tons of time on the books that I must burn up before the end of the year or I will lose them.  Might as well go to the Netherlands!

21 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

21 responses to “Itchy Feet….Again!

  1. OOh I’m an hour out of NYC!!

  2. poundheadhere

    How awesome to be able to visit the Netherlands again! October should be fall color and I bet it’s gorgeous!

  3. Just don’t make the mistake I made when I accidentally booked a room in the nearby town that had the similar sounding name “Amersfaart”. Disgusting place.

  4. Patty O"

    DO go! Anneke is good for you and so are The Netherlands. Unfortunately I have been self-employed so long that I didn’t get vacations, and sadly the Old Bitch who decreed that was…ME! I have never had the choice of taking the time or losing it; I just had to GO…but it took me years to realize that. Ah well. I have already stolen that photo to use on my desktop so when you go to Amersfoort I will go with you in spirit. YAY for Poolie!

  5. Yup, time to get those feet moving again.

  6. Ter

    I flew into Amsterdam when I went to Spain in hs. Flew KLM out of Detroit. Had a big of a layover in Amsterdam, but not long enough to explore any further than the terminal. I remember these huge wicker (?) chairs we took to hiding in. I have a picture somewhere of them. Your friend’s new home looks positively charming! I’d love to see that part of the world again, the deep history of it all. We’re really into medieval era, so I’m excited for you!

  7. Sounds like a wonderful trip…..hope you get it on the flight plans.

Leave a Reply

