Pancakes and Army Men

Captain’s Log   6,025

I was up and out of the house at 6:30 this morning to give a speech about the museum to a local Kiwanis Club at a nearby restaurant.  I must admit, I was really funny.  When the crowd responds to even the smallest crack of humor, it’s so much easier for me to swing into high gear.  I left them with guest passes and brochures.  All of them were playing with the little green army guys I left as a treat.  Kids are kids no matter how old they are.

greenarmymen-e1401467864663

How to excite a bunch of retired men at a cheap breakfast buffet at 7:00 in the morning.

The scrambled eggs were delicious (lots of cheese).  The fried potatoes were weird and I only took a bite (black olives that I love but not in fried taters so much – kinda yuck).   I had juice and coffee too.  And a pancake!  There is something about pancakes when somebody else makes them.

I gave everybody a guest pass too.  What the hell.  It kind of went along with the whole pancake excitement.

And now it’s off to the salt mines.

Speaking of salt, I love the pink stuff from Pakistan.  It’s marketed as Himalayan salt.  Makes you think ascended spiritual masters knock away sacred rocks from the mountain and carefully put it in little bottles that sell in high end foodie stores.  Not true.  It comes out of the ground in chunks.  It’s still sold in high end foodie stores (or very cheaply at Trader Joe’s – the choice is yours).

rock-salt-mine-pakistan-01

Some guy probably sits in that chair and pounds it into smaller rocks.  My salt started out in some dirty heap in Pakistan.  For all I know, it’s filled with bugs and dirt.  Ask me if I care.  This stuff is delicious!

13 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

13 responses to “Pancakes and Army Men

  1. susanna

    Thank you again for the wonderful salts you gave me. I want to Google them and learn more about them. The picture of the pink salt was so interesting, Now I can fully understand the expression, “back to the salt mine.”

  2. poundheadhere

    Hmm.. pink salt is better? It sounds like a trip to Trader Joe’s is in order

  3. I’m so glad the speech went over well as did the little green men. Youse is a winner all around.

  4. Patty O"

    I want some of the SMOKED salt from Denmark (swoon) but it is breathtakingly expensive. Year before last a friend brought me some salt from Peru that is mined high in the Andes. She felt so sorry for the salt workers that she bought as much as she could carry and brought it home for EVERYBODY.

  5. I’m going to look for pink salt just because you mentioned it! Oh the excitement!

  6. Penny Tushingham

    Yes, you turned me onto the Pink Salt and I love it!

    Pen Pen

  7. bholles

    Glad you had fun.

Leave a Reply

