Drill Sergeant Poolie

Captain’s Log   6,018

I am ready for the party on Saturday.  I was going to dress up and only use the drill instructor hat, whistle, and sunglasses when I had to get up and ask for money.  The coordinator and the rest of the staff encouraged me to go all the way with my costume.

And here it is.

drill duds

Drop and give me 20……..DOLLARS!

The authentic hat at the surplus store didn’t even come close to fitting me.  I was shocked (not)! So I am sticking with the costume hat I ordered a few weeks ago.  The shoes didn’t fit either so I went to the $10 shoe store across the street from the surplus store.  I had the pants.

Hat………………..$11

Shirt………………$  5

Shoes…………….$10

Glasses………….$   7

Whistle…………$   5

Experience the night of the event……………Priceless

kiss drill

Selfie in the glasses…..and in the glasses again

I am really getting excited about this now.

I don’t think I am going to call anyone a maggot.  This is all in good fun.  Maybe I could people gummy worms.  They are almost as disgusting as maggots.  Here is a list of names I think are digusting………

Beets!

Eye Boogers!

Bleu Cheese!

Martini!

Sputum!

I can be more creative than just saying “maggots.”  Then again, I cannot see going around calling people eye boogers.

We are going to try to hang our bunting today.  It’s on the agenda.  Hang Bunting.  That’s not something you see every day. Well, you might see bunting but you probably won’t see it scheduled for installation.

patriotic bunting

Rah Rah Rah!  Siss Boom Bah!

I am bringing my pal Jack as my guest.  He used to work at the museum and is now a successful automotive journalist.  I know he will give us some good media coverage.  We pronounce our names the same but they are spelled a bit differently.  Consequently, I call him my little brother.

buffet one

Jack and I at the Jimmy Buffet concert a few years ago.

buffet two

We were reacting to these people standing in the lemonade line.

I am looking forward to a fun night.  Still lots to do.  We can make it happen!

11 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

11 responses to “Drill Sergeant Poolie

  1. poundheadhere

    What I wouldn’t give to witness your badassery. I assume by now you’ve got ’em performing actual push-ups.

  2. You are going to be great stuff. Waving…

  3. Remember to say ‘I CAN’T HEAR YOU!” when they protest!!!! Have a blast….

  4. Joanie Benson

    I’m ASKEERED! Not of you in the drill sergeant outfit, but of the people in the lemonade line.

  5. Sally Vangorkom

    You forgot “Hard Boiled Eggs” under the “Disgusting” section.

  6. bholles

    You will be so cool.

Leave a Reply

