Nesting With a Shed

Captain’s Log   6,017

It’s a chilly and rainy morning here in paradise.  That doesn’t happen very often, but I like it.  Very much.

Every time I go to Home Depot, I walk past the pre-fabricated sheds and think about what I could do if I had one.  I don’t need a shed.  I just like sheds.  When I was a kid, we had a shed behind the house that was adapted to be a “playhouse.”  It had a chalkboard on one wall and a row of desks.  So I guess it was more of a school house.  We played in there for hours. The shed housed the lawn mower and my bike too, but when we played inside, we just moved those things out.

We played in the shed year-round.  It was school, it was a “hospital,” it was a theatre, it was a ship tossed about on the sea.  That’s where we played our favorite game we called “Donner Party.”  That was a winter game.  We would walk around in the deep snow and then return to the shed (which had magically become a Conestoga wagon).  Without fail, we would choose Philip as the one who had to die so we could eat him and live to see another day.  Philip was the youngest and had problems saying his own name.  So we called him Bellhop.  We always killed and dined on Bellhop.  Sometimes, we let him die a natural death of starvation, complications from falling off a cliff, or hypothermia.  If we wanted to move the game along quickly, we just “killed” him.

So as we get older, we still need our playhouses.  Some people convert their entire homes into playhouses, and they are content.  Guys often create man caves in spare bedrooms or wall of part of the garage….. so they can look at manly things like car models they have been collecting their entire lives or watch football on enormous TV screens.  Men go into their man caves to be alone, scratch, and surround themselves with their toys.

There is a new trend now for women who would like the “man cave” experience too.  Many times, these women have lost out on their claims to the spare room.  Most women don’t like to sit in the garage and look at wrenches or oil spills, so going there isn’t much of an option.  So….many women are opting to buy “she sheds.”  Yup.  You go to Home Depot and buy a shed.  Bring it home.  Put it in the back yard.  Instant haven (with some major decorating overhauls).

sheeed

She shed.  Ta da!

Most don’t have electricity or running water.  But they all have magic.

She sheds are big enough for visitors.  I could see using it as a spare room for a single guest or maybe a small gathering of folks to play Cards Against Humanity.  I could sit in my shed and play Words With Friends and drink coffee.  That could also be a dedicated place for reading magazines.

I think I might get a lot more visitors if they knew they were going to sleep in a magic shed.

No building permits required since it isn’t designed for habitation.  Visiting a shed isn’t living in a shed.  And if it’s legal to sleep on a patio, it must surely be legal to sleep in a she shed.

Or I could use the shed for art projects.  I wouldn’t have to clean up the mess completely because the projects wouldn’t impact my living area inside the house.  I could call “studio.”  I have always loved the idea of having a studio.

sheeed1

How cute it that?

I think I am feeling the urge to “nest” again.

18 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

18 responses to “Nesting With a Shed

  1. Patty O"

    I have seen a couple of magazine features on sheds but the term “She Shed” is new to me…and I hate it. I like “Studio” far better and would even prefer “Playhouse”, and can think of all sorts of wonderful uses for such a sweet sanctuary. I think you’re on to something!

  2. I saw those and some of them are really amazing. You really should have a studio. You should do it.

  3. Thanks for the note. I sure hope you are getting better. I’m miserably on hold….hope tomorrow I will be better. Love your sheds. Yes, every artist needs a studio to draw, paint, or write in. 🙂

  4. Ter

    We just christened the house Nerdvana. Between all the games and movies we and our friend (who’s our tenant) have and the fact that she painted one room to look like a Tardis, it was inevitable. We still play and love every second of it. No shed required, just an overactive imagination and desire to never grow up 🙂

  5. This is definitely a necessity! You can write in there, do creative projects and pretend you are on a Vay~Kay~Shun!

  6. Joanie Benson

    I can see that multi-colored studio in your backyard right now.

  7. bholles

    You need to get a shed.

  8. Penny Tushingham

    That creative studio shed is SO YOU! You need to get one.

    Pen Pen

Leave a Reply

