It Did Not Stay in Vegas

Captain’s Log   6,016

It was quite an adventure!  It was more than I bargained for.

First, the good stuff.

It was wonderful to see Amy and Kelly again.  They are so sweet!  I feel like they are my own kids!  I shared a room with them and we had a wonderful time.  Our fun started with a backstage tour of Bally’s Jubilee show.  Amazing!  We got to walk around on the stage (that is equipped with three giant elevators to move the sets).  95% of the costume changes are done TWO FLIGHTS of stairs below the stage.  During an average show, a dancer will climb 1,400 steps.  OMG!  All of that while wearing a 35-pound feathery thing on her head!  Those gals are in shape!  Most of them are also over 5’10” tall.  They need to be tall to look “normal” on such a massive stage with massive sets.

We spent all day Thursday running around.  That was fun.  The Bellagio gardens are always a treat.

calla

Such a sensuous flower

We walked the strip.  Kelly found some interesting pals.

kelly swing

Practicing their fireman carry?

Then we found ourselves  in……Paris!  For real!

tower heads

Ooh la la!

That night, we went to see a parody of Fifty Shades of Grey.  It was hilarious!  Over the top inappropriate and funny as hell!  Wish I had written it.

fifty shades parody

I hurt myself laughing!   Don’t think E.L. James would think this was funny.

We stopped to get some rum.  It’s our tradition to drink rum in Vegas.  We drank quite a bit of rum.  It was really good rum.

kraken

Rare and expensive in Canada.  Amy and Kelly were thrilled to see it for WAY cheaper (even in Vegas).  We indulged.  With real Coke.

And now….the bad stuff……

I woke up around 2:00 in the morning feeling like someone was standing on my stomach.  I assumed it was the rum.  The moment I sat up, I had to bolt for the bathroom and rid myself of the day’s stomach contents.  That usually does the trick when someone has a disagreement with rum, but not this time.  I knew I was flat out sick.  And sick I was.  No specific details here, but let’s just say I felt like setting up camp in the bathroom to make the journey easier.  The hurling went on for 24 hours.

I missed all of Friday’s fun.  All of it.  I wasn’t able to join in for meals, play slot machines, or ride the big Ferris wheel.  None of it.  I was surprised I was upright and able to take the plane home on Saturday morning.  I got home and fell asleep.  I got up on Sunday afternoon and went to a birthday dinner for my sister.  I ate about 1/3 of a baked potato and went right home to get prone again.

I have rounded the bend on this nasty bug now.  I am not feeling 100% by any shake of the stick, but I am able to eat small amounts of food and remain functional.  Life goes on and one must stay in the game.

So yes, it was fun.  The bug took some of the polish off the experience, but I am grateful that nobody else got sick and I was able to get home.

Busy week at the salt mine.  Yearly fundraiser on Saturday night.  Lots to do.

 

22 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

22 responses to “It Did Not Stay in Vegas

  1. poundheadhere

    I’m glad you made it home in one piece after all of that, and that you’re feeling a little better. You need a couple of months off for vacation is all. Your doctor should prescribe it for you 😉

  2. susanna

    I’m sorry to hear about the hurling; I was hurling on Sunday. At least you had Vegas and hurled. I had Church and hurled. I know which one you would pick.

  3. I’m sorry the rum didn’t hold off the onset of the nasty illness. But there’s always next year!

  4. annanotbob

    And she did stay in Vegas – still there, married with kids and a gazillion grandkids xx

  5. annanotbob

    So glad you’re better now and that you did have some fun before you got sick. My pal Jo was a showgirl at the MGM hotel on the strip about thirty five years ago (when there was a fire), having been spotted on the streets of Brighton and offered an audition. She’s about 6 foot tall. In her day they made it through the steps and the costume changes with industrial quantities of amphetamines, but I expect it’s been cleaned up now. xxx

  6. Patty O"

    I just LOVE Dangerspouse…as long as he’s somebody else’s Bad Boy!

  7. Good lord! Are you sure it was a bug, and not food poisoning? Seems to me like no known strain of bacillus (or other) could survive the rum onslaught it was subjected to. I bet you got something bad in your mouth at the 50 Shades fiasco….

Leave a Reply

