The Wisdom of Rayna

Captain’s Log   6,004

I really don’t understand why so many people want my job.  They must think it’s easy.  At times, I make it look easy.  Actually, almost all the time.  There is a reason for that.

effortless

From the Art of War…………..

Your actions must seem natural and executed with ease.  All the toil and practice that go into them, and also all the clever tricks, must be concealed when you act.  Act effortlessly, as if you could do much more.  Avoid the temptation of revealing how hard you work.  It only raises questions.  Teach no one your tricks or they will be used against you.

Years ago, my pal Rayna sent me the Art of War.  I was going through some major shit with an employer, and she said I could learn a lot from reading the philosophy of Sun Tzu, a Chinese military strategist from the 6th century.  Rayna was absolutely right.   The book was very inspiring and it taught me to trust my instincts.  The book was translated into French in 1772 and English in 1905.  It is brilliant.

When you are happy, confident, or successful…….there are always people out there just waiting to take it all away from you.  Jealousy?  Insecurity?  I don’t honestly know.  That thinking is in direct opposition to how I live my life.  If I want to be successful as someone I admire (or whose job I covet), I do the work to create my own path to success.  I cannot take success from someone else.  I cannot even take credit for success if I didn’t earn it or work for it in some way.  I am just not wired that way.

If someone hits a lucky streak or achieves something great, it is not my job to demean them with my own thoughts of low self-worth.  Nor should I demean myself by thinking this way.  Jealousy breeds contempt and self-loathing.  It is such a nasty thing.

When someone is resentful of what I have or what I have achieved, I no longer feel a lot of empathy for their misguided ego trips into the darkness.  I earned my success.  Through sweat and toil, through practice of principles and ideals, or by sitting on a stool for hours practicing guitar chord changes until they became second nature……  I earned it.  I was born with gifts just like everyone else.  I paid attention to some of my gifts and have developed them into something useful.  I didn’t wait around for someone else to make me proficient or happy.  I did the work.  I earned it.

Practice makes things seem effortless.  It’s a tactic that has served me well.  Thank you, dearest Rayna, for the gift of this book and all the wisdom you shared with me during the years of our friendship.  You left us too early.  I miss you.  I practice being a warrior every day because of you.  Blessings to you wherever you are and for whatever you are doing.

10 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

10 responses to “The Wisdom of Rayna

  1. poundheadhere

    You have every reason to hold your head high and keep it there. Those of us who have been following you for a while know how hard you work and how well you do your job. There is always someone nearby with a slingshot, chucking little stones at you in an effort to find a vulnerability in your armor. Lucky for you, you’ve got a bigger slingshot – they just don’t usually see it until it’s too late. People like that forget the power of a functioning BRAIN.

    I miss Rayna too. She was such a remarkable soul! She still is, in my view – I expect to see her back again soon if she isn’t already here. However, fie on the basket of infidelity she married. Just sayin’.

    • poolagirl

      Functioning brain and well-placed anger. Works every time. Rayna was such a dear. She loved her husband so much. I wonder if she knew.

  2. Wise thoughts and good points. That’s why I love you…..you work for your own self and find joy in many things.

  3. susanna

    The book sounds great and you have earned your place as an executive just like you earned it in other avenues of your life. I enjoy admiring those that are at the top of their game knowing they are there for a reason and they don’t last long if they can’t take the heat.

  4. Patty O"

    What wonderful, uplifting, TRUE thoughts…and your gratitude still felt for the wisdom of your departed friend. You have enriched my day.

  5. Just a lovely piece. And you do it all with a smile.

Leave a Reply

