The Cool Breeze Argument

Captain’s Log   6,003

Well, I did a little research yesterday.  The utility company’s profits went up 22% in its third quarter last year.  Right on,  utility company!    SDG&E profits for the third quarter rose  from $129 million to $157 million.   Even more reason for them to gouge customers a lot more, yes?

One of the lamest reasons I heard for their argument is this.

People who live near the coast or near the city proper can crack their windows at night and enjoy cool breezes.  People who live east of the city don’t have cool breeze so they run their air conditioners.

Okay.  Let me explain.  I am one of those people who lives in the city proper.  I live close enough to the coast to enjoy cool ocean breezes every so often.  There are times when the marine layer blankets my entire neighborhood with fog.  There are also nights when it’s really hot and I turn on 2-3 fans.  Big fucking deal.

I also paid more for my house to live where I do.  I also pay a lot more in property taxes because I CHOOSE to live where I do.  Location, location, location.

So I get to open my windows in a house I paid more for……a house with higher property taxes.  Thus, I should suffer another “penalty” for that by having my utility bill go up 20-30% because I do everything I can to conserve energy in my modest little dwelling.

Property values east of the city are, for the most part, quite a bit lower.  The farther out you go, the cheaper it gets.  So people who live in cheaper houses with lower mortgages should now get a big break on their utility bills because they don’t have cool breeze.

In all fairness, not all the houses east of the city are cheap.  Because the land is cheaper, there are many estates out there too.  I am taking mega houses with high ceilings and 4-5 bedrooms.  Lots of land.  Many have 3-car garages to hold all their stuff.  Those folks are truly wealthy.  But they don’t get cool breeze.  So they should get a big break on their utility bills.  Why should someone who lives in a $2,000,000 home get a break like this?  It’s like having a boat.  If you can afford the damn boat, you can afford to take care of it.  If not, sell the damn boat.  If not, move to a place with cool breeze.

 

12 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

12 responses to “The Cool Breeze Argument

  1. goatbarnwitch

    The sick logic of corporate greed strikes again. Tell them what you think any way you can!

  2. I used to live in one of those, and the breezes were wonderful. Yes, we are supposed to shut our windows, seal ourselves in, and use the heat and A?C. Why, because we have been retrofitted, and we live under the flight path. No further comment she says cranking our windows open..

  3. susanna

    That was well said, you covered all the bases. How about this, have Barbara Mia send it in under her name.

  4. Patty O"

    Does anybody still read the UT? I cancelled my subscription almost 40 years ago and have never missed it; it was awful then and I assume it still is now.

  5. Valerie

    Will there be public meetings on this or is it already a done deal? Out here the utility companies have to have public hearings on rate hikes that high before they can get approval. You need to go and say your piece – although admittedly, it won’t make a difference. 😦

  6. Penny Tushingham

    I think you should send this to the UT as a letter to the editor. Well written.

    Pen Pen

Leave a Reply

