Getting Ready for Pen Pen

Captain’s Log   5,988

Montana Penny arrives this afternoon around 4:00!  YAY!  I will leave work then, stop at the store for a few items, and be home when she arrives in her rental car around 5:30 or so.  YAY!

Our play day is scheduled for Sunday.  We will get up whenever we choose,  eat whenever and whatever we want, and head out for an adventure that includes dinner with Big Sister Mia and Joanie, Hairdresser Exceptionale.  Sounds like a fun day.  We will get home in time to find out which film wins best picture.  I predict Boyhood.  It is amazing.  It deserves the win.

poolie and penny

The two of us in Montana back in 2012.  We left for Yellowstone the next day and had so much fun!

I need to get back to Montana.  I need to get back to Iowa and Minnesota.  When the weather warms up, I want to get on the road and drive for a few weeks.  Not days.  Weeks.  Not sure if I want company or not.  Right this moment, I am thinking not.  Just me and the road.  I can dig it.

The hummingbirds are eating an incredible amount of nectar.  They went through at least 3/4 cup yesterday.  Time to buy more sugar.  A small bag of raw sugar lasts me almost a year, but I go through white cane sugar like crazy with those birds.

Busy day at the museum.  Then two glorious days with no work crap to interfere.  Imagine!

21 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

21 responses to “Getting Ready for Pen Pen

  1. I’m late to the party, but from what I’ve seen it looks like it was an awesome weekend for you 😉

  2. PS: We had dinner last night at the Aladdin in Kearny Mesa. Thought of you. They have a veggie pizza you might get addicted to.

  3. You are going to have way too much fun. 🙂

  4. susanna

    Take a sound track on your road trip. I have had music enhance the scenery, the right music and a sunset, glorious!

  5. You totally need to get back to Minnesota! I need to have a fun day with you! See you on the internet tomorrow!

  6. Road trip…..I bet Route 66 is in that plan……Have fun this weekend too.

  7. Patty O"

    Have a wonderful time this weekend.

  8. bholles

    Cant wait to see Penny.

  9. Joel Anderson

    I did a road trip a few years ago around the country. I turned down many offers from friends who wanted to go with me. I had a great time going solo.

  10. Valerie

    I think a solo trip would be awesome!

Leave a Reply

