Dance of the Horns

Captain’s Log   5,986

Yesterday, I wrote about wanting to dance with antlers.  Ned, my British pal, sent over a link explaining the Abbots Bromley Horn Dance.  The dance is an English  folk dance  dating back to the Middle Ages. The dance takes place each year in  Abbots Bromley, a village in  Staffordshire, England. The modern version of the dance involves  reindeer antlers, a hobby horse, Maid Marian, and a Fool.   

Here is a video of this lovely custom.  And it is indeed lovely.

I would love to see that.  It looks so magical!  It must be quite an honor to be a horn dancer.  How fun!  We don’t have cool customs like that in this country.  We have hot dog eating contests.

I am so glad I live in Southern California right now.  The winter for my New England pals has been beyond brutal.  I remember images like this from when I lived in Minnesota.  I lived on a snow emergency route, so I had to move my car to a side street.  Depending on the north/south plowing schedule, there were times I had to move my car 3-4 blocks.  Move it from a snow bank like this to another snowbank like this.  I really don’t know how I did that for all those years.

cars in snow

I remember going outside to face a mess like this and just crying.  And then the tears would freeze in my eyes.

It was always a good idea to make sure you closed the windows before the snow started to fall and the wind started to blow.

car-inside

I kid you not.  I have seen this before.

So yes, I am grateful to be here with lemon trees and hummingbirds.

10 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

10 responses to “Dance of the Horns

  1. susanna

    That was adorable How about the priest riding the hobby horse, the chubby jester and the man with the little bow and arrow pointed at the rear end of the elk dancer. I expected knomes and elves to pop out of the woods and join in. This whole thing was so Poola (and Ned) and the law of attraction in high gear.

  2. ned

    Back in 1976 they carbon dated one of the sets of horns and came up with a date of 1065 plus or minus 80 years. The tunes are not that old.

  3. I’m sure you would make a great addition to the dance especially if you also brought pancakes.

  4. poundheadhere

    We do have traditions like that here, if you know where to look. There are Native American dancers and ceremonies peppered across the USA.

  5. Patty O"

    You’re right. I can’t think of any dancing traditions here…except for the Native American Powwows where there is a lot of dancing. A business neighbor was a Jingle Dancer and could dance for hours. One hilarious thing in the tape: did you catch when the music switched to “Isle of Capri”? Laughed out loud…

Leave a Reply

