Fun on the “Island”

Captain’s Log   5,971

Just 29 more entries and I hit 6,000.  I shudder to think how many words that might be.  Even with just 100 per entry, that’s over half a million.  I know I spew more than that.  Wow.  That’s all I can say.  Just wow.

We spent yesterday knocking around Coronado.  Such a lovely place.  You can get there two ways.  You can drive almost to Mexico and drive up a small strip of land.  Or you can go across the magnificent Coronado bridge.

CoroBridge

Coronado Bridge

It is really an engineering marvel.  We had a lot of fun walking around and looking at apartments on the bay that cost almost $2,000,000.   We just gazed at them.

We drove around the older neighborhoods and marveled at the grand old places.

victorian

This lovely old home was one of the first ones built in Coronado.  All the wood had to be imported from the Pacific Northwest and brought down by ship.  Not enough wood to build houses like this in San Diego – at least not in those days.

And then, of course, the Hotel Del Coronado – the largest wooden hotel in the United States.  Stately and still wonderful.  L. Frank Baum wrote some of his Oz tales while living there.

Hotel-del-Coronado_5746

Coronado-Hotel

What an amazing place.  It’s a must see for all my visitors.  I never get tired of showing it off.  And yes, it’s haunted.  Big time.

Walking-Upstairs-520x520

Kate Morgan walking up the stairs of the hotel around 1892.  She checked in but never checked out.  She was found dead in her room.  All very mysterious.

25 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

25 responses to “Fun on the “Island”

  1. poundheadhere

    Now you’ve got me salivating for a trip to Coronado. Not sure when I’ll get there, but it might be my date with destiny, lol.

  2. Three ways….there’s the ferry. G and I find that a fun way to get a quick harbor tour, and have lunch or dinner at the other end. 🙂

  3. Jean

    Thats beautiful !!! And a haunted hotel,,,,right up my alley !!!

  4. goatbarnwitch

    Beautiful place and a very cool bridge. I will get to the west and see these things one day

  5. That sounds like so much fun! One of these days, I AM going to get back to San Diego and you….

  6. susanna

    The pictures are beautiful. It makes me want to do that tour again. I just love your communications. You impact my life in wonderful ways. Can’t wait to see where “we” will go today.

  7. Joanie B

    Mom and I were just down there on Monday at the Landing. Dave should be a tour guide at the Hotel Del… over the years we have taken the grandkids and neices and nephews at Christmastime when they were young and he’d go through this whole spiel about the Hotel history and the whole Kate Morgan story which always made their eyes go wide with exitement. We’d go up the old elevator to the floor where she stayed (even though you’re not supposed to unless you’re a guest). They’d creep down the hallway like they were expecting her to pop out at any minute! Always so much fun. I bet Anneke loved iit!

  8. Lovely scenery! Enjoy your travels and your guest.

  9. Ter

    How fabulous! Of course, there’s not enough money in the Western Hemisphere to get me to go over that bridge! I never had an irrational fear of bridges until I had to drive over them regularly.

  10. bholles

    Maybe she will take you there when you come visit.

Leave a Reply

