Happy Channukah

Captain’s Log   5,957

My first Channukah dinner was amazing.  I was very touched by my friend’s hospitality.  I was greeted by her and her lovely son.  Dinner was ready to be served and the menorah was ready to be lit.  She beckoned me over to the ledge and I saw not one, but two menorahs.  The second one was for me to light – and then to keep for my own.

We ate, we talked about the new movie about Moses (which the son said is totally horrendous), and we talked about how things change as we get older.  It was absolutely lovely.

latkes

Latkes.  OMG!

enchiladas

Cheese enchiladas with mole sauce.  The chocolate and spices were absolutely ….. sublime!

menorah

My very own menorah and candles.   Plus the traditional chocolate gelt made in the Netherlands.  So good!

It was a touching evening.  I am blessed to know such wonderful people who opened their home to me and made me feel so welcome.

And now I am moving on to the next museum project.  The car symphony.  Here is a teaser photo of the guitars made from gas tanks and hubcaps.  And one drum made from a wheel rim and a hub cap.  There are eight drums but the stands are not quite ready yet.

hubcap guitars

This is going to be fun!

10 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

10 responses to “Happy Channukah

  1. Susanna

    Have you heard the car symphony yet? Which night or afternoon are you going? Is the ticket expensive? I guess that’s enough questions!

    • poolagirl

      It debuts on January 1st at the International Auto Show at the Convention Center. Plays January 1, 2, 3, and 4 at 11:00 AM and 2:00 PM. I think tickets are $10 for the whole show.

  2. How lovely that you could share that special holiday with friends. I’m sure you will remember it with fondness every time you light that menorah in years to come.

  3. poundheadhere

    Your feast of Hanukkah looks lovely, as doe the menorah and chocolate coins. Good friends, good food, and a wonderful new holiday tradition for you.

  4. I’m happy to share Hanukkah with you. It’s lovely to see “real” menorahs, as opposed to the tin hanukiot with which we made do during the War.

  5. Patty O'

    Your new menorah is exquisite. What a lovely evening. And thank you for sharing the tease photo. We’re gonna need all the info on WHERE and WHEN this extravaganza will be performed. OK?

Leave a Reply

