Ramping Up for the End of the Festival

Captain’s Log   5,952

I am rapidly approaching 6,000 entries.  Trying to figure out what that will mean.  Will I hear angels trumpeting from the sky?  Will I wake up with some clever ideas to fill the next 500 entries?

I feel like a workhorse here since so many writers have fallen by the wayside.  It makes me sad.

One more night of madness in the park.  Geezer and Mage will be there tonight.  Two of my favorite people!  Looking forward to seeing them.

We had over 3,000 visitors last night in four hours.  It was about 750 or so per hour.  As the night drew to a close and it was apparent the museum would be closing, the largest rush hit the doors.

dec nights 2014

This was immediately after opening the doors.  We had 163 people in the first three minutes.

corn dogs

This was our view right outside the door.  A disgusting corn dog place that you could smell more than a block away.  I went home with the cloying scent of fried pig parts clinging to my Santa hat hair.

One more night of this craziness.  One of the other museum directors (from the pretty end of the park that does NOT have disgusting corn dog stands or cotton candy crap in front of its doors) stopped by to see what was going on.  He walked in and said, “This is totally gross and offensive.  It’s horrible.”  If we were on the more historic end of the park, the committee would NEVER put Tilt o’ Whirls and other pukish rides in front of our museum.  But, we are the youngest kids in the park “family,” so we get the crappy midway and all the joyous carny experiences that go with it.

____________________________

I got up this morning and found that my children have turned themselves into a nativity scene.

nativity

The teeny clown is Jesus.  Jack is the angel.  Violet is Joseph.  Millicent is Mary.  Heinous and the hula hotties are shepherds.  And the little nuns are the black sheep.  Just pretend you don’t see the pipe cleaner star attached to Millicent’s neck.  They are all glad Jack brought the rum.

I also did some lights.  I don’t get into decorating anymore, but if it can be done in five minutes, I am all over it.  So I decorated my quilt.

christmas lights

I turned these on last night and just stared at them for about 10 minutes.  Maybe I fell asleep.

15 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

15 responses to “Ramping Up for the End of the Festival

  1. susanna

    That is by far the oddest collection of ascended masters, I mean random toys I have ever seen gathered around Jesus, I mean wee clown. Tim Burton has nothing on you and personally I think Johnny Deep would dig that manger.

  2. I really enjoyed all but the folks who snuck water into the museum. It pissed folks off and made me feel vastly less than.

    Love the nativity scene, loved even the cotton candy this year. I didn’t hear any rap once the museum opened, and now it is all over for the year. Loved your nativity family. 🙂

  3. I gave away our nativity scene when we moved to Florida….along with lots of other Christmas items. Glad you got through the 2 nights of Hell. Hope the Southern Comfort didn’t run out too soon.

  4. poundheadhere

    The kids were busy, and imaginative. Kudos to them for putting their holiday play out there for us to share.

  5. Patty O'

    LOVE your Nativity Scene and Dangerspouse’s, too. And good luck tonight!

  6. bholles

    I am sure you will be happy when it is over.

  7. BEST NATIVITY SCENE EVER! I mean, after this one: https://i.imgur.com/I313C.jpg …and also a certain lemon scented one I seem to remember. But yeah, awesome! Jesus really was a clown, wasn’t he? He made the best balloon animals!

Leave a Reply

