Big Storm a Brewin’

Captain’s Log   5,948

We are in for a big-ass Pacific storm.  It doesn’t storm often here, but when it does……HOO BOY!  It floods.  Big time.

floood

This can happen in a matter of hours.  The water has no place to go.

stadium floods

This is Qualcomm Stadium when it floods – about a mile down the hill from where I live.  As you can see, I have to figure out alternative routes to work when this happens.  All the secondary roads are closed.

transit center

Public transportation doesn’t work too well when it storms here.

fashion valley flooded

The approach to the mall near my house becomes a hazard.

storm-obpier-kc2_r620x349

The famous Ocean Beach pier when it storms.  No going out to that iconic little diner for French fries!

My sister called this morning and said up to five inches of rain is expected.  This is going to be a doozy.  Time to batten the hatches and prepare for a true Pacific storm that should stir things up big time.

My houseguests are gone.  The visit was short and sweet.  I am now ramping up for the busy season at the museum.  Glad I had some time to kick back and do fun things.  I won’t be doing anything fun Anneke arrives in January.

24 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

24 responses to “Big Storm a Brewin’

  1. I hope you get the rain you need, without the overflow!

  2. I wish there was a “like” button on some of those comments. That’s the PB Pier….Crystal Pier. 🙂 Yes, you can come here if you can’t get home….which I am sure you can. Thinking we would all be underwater by now, I got G to drive me to the doc’s this morning. No rain so far. The cast comes off no matter what!

  3. farmgirl

    And so….your next batch of cars will have one thats amphibious? Just in case? You should hire me. I have great ideas. 🙂

  4. I’m hoping the dark clouds will pass over your house and Barb’s place without leaving a drop….

  5. They make you go to work when it floods like that? It’s not safe! Surely your museum would not be open to visitors. I was about eleven the first time we got three days off school because of flooding. It was real flooding, a result of thawing up in the hills; it didn’t even rain.

  6. Ter

    I’d say at least you don’t have to shovel after a storm like us, but with that many inches, perhaps some 5 gallon buckets may be in order. Stay safe!

  7. bholles

    Maybe you will have some fun with your sister.

  8. goatbarnwitch

    Good luck getting through the storm. That is a lot of rain all at once no matter where you live!

  9. Batten down the hatches! Stow loose gear! Furl the mizzenmast and clear the poop deck! Lash yourself the the wheel, Cap’n!!!

  10. Valerie

    Yikes!!!! Stay safe and dry! Barb too!!

  11. Penny Tushingham

    French Fries on that pier would be awesome as long as you are wearing a life jacket!

    Pen Pen

  12. The Knitting Cinephile

    Woot! If you’re getting a big storm, that means we might get some rain here in the asphalt desert! Huzzah!

Leave a Reply

