Remembering Lee Harvey Oswald

Captain’s Log   5,942

Another feral child with a very troubled past.  I am not condoning what happened.  I am only trying to make sense.  I truly believe this man could not have acted alone.  I have read the reports.  All of them.  I think he was part of a plan and he took the blame.  We will never know because he was gunned down before he could talk.

One of the world’s biggest mysteries remains a mystery.

oswald2

Lee Harvey Oswald was a son, a husband, a father, a nephew, a friend, a soldier, and so much more than who they say he was on November 22, 1963.  We should always remember the many things that make up a person’s life, soul, and choices.

The events of that weekend 51 years ago defined my life.  I was changed forever.  Even though I was only 11 years old, I knew what it meant.  I knew what I had to do.  I hope I have lived my life accordingly – true to the insights that became so clear to me at such a young age.

16 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

16 responses to “Remembering Lee Harvey Oswald

  1. I was pretty young at the time – I’m thinking at most 5. His funeral was held on my birthday. I knew that it was a tragedy but was too young to fully grasp the scope of it until later. I don’t think we as a nation have ever truly recovered from it.

    Most of us understand that it was a conspiracy. Oswald didn’t act alone. The only real question is, who was the driving force behind him?

  2. Susanna

    I am going to have to revisit conspiracy.com to refresh my memory about what the alternative thinkers proposed. Some thought it was our government who planned it but for sure it was the dark forces that are alive and kicking here on our planet

  3. goatbarnwitch

    A moment frozen in time for so many people. I was just past three years old but I remember the funeral on the little black and white TV. I remember his brother being gunned down, and I remember living with the war that was televised in all it’s horror. If Kennedy hadn’t been killed would Vietnam have dragged on for so long? Would cynicism have been my first language?

  4. Joanie

    I just hope that when we die, they play a movie that answers all the questions that were never answered when we were alive. Answers that maybe we would not have been able to cope with whilst alive. This whole Harvey Oswald/Jack Ruby thing has bugged me for years. Who was it that sent THAT guy in to kill Oswald before he could talk?? I think we still don’t have any clear answers. Unfortunately, most of the people who would know the answer to that question are probably dead too. From natural causes? Probably not.

  5. Patty O'

    67andgood is right: it was a Loss of Innocence for all of us. We all remember exactly where we were and what we were doing when in a flash everything changed.

  6. I remember that day as well. I think we all lost most of our innocence that day and the rest of it when Robert Kennedy was gunned down a few short years later. I wonder, too, what our country might have been like with his continued leadership.

  7. I believe he was the shooter, but I never believed he acted alone. It doesn’t hold up to rational investigation. (Anyone who actually knew, from first-hand experience, is long gone.)

    People of my generation were looking forward to the next election, when we would be old enough to vote for Kennedy. Of course, that never happened.

Leave a Reply

