Setting Emotional Boundaries and Wearing a Colander on Your Head

Captain’s Log   5,939

I have a long day ahead of me so I am going in later.  I won’t get home until around 9:00 tonight, so I feel entitled.  Well, maybe not “entitled” exactly.  That word has a very bad connotation these days.  It’s all about kids (and adults) who show up at soccer matches expecting trophies for simply showing up.  They deserve all this stuff because they are “special.”  Make me pukish.  So maybe I will say…….I have earned the right to go in later today.  Earning something is not the same as entitlement.  And I can do it because I am the boss.   LOL!  Just kidding.  Sorta.  Not about being the boss.  That part is true.

I have never won a trophy in my entire life.  Just saying.  I don’t want a trophy.  I know the value of my work.  I don’t need constant reminders to tell me what I have achieved.  I hung my college diploma on the wall for about three days before I threw it in a drawer.  I cannot even begin to find it now.  It means nothing.  

But then there are grow up adult people out there who need to be praised for everything.  They are addicted to the words “You are the best” or “You are amazing.”  If you miss a moment, they sulk and accuse you of not caring enough.  They should wear t-shirts emblazoned with the image below to remind us all of our duties.

praise me

Tiresome chore.  It’s also our jobs to keep those pedestals in good repair.  Just fuck it.

I used to have a lot of these aggressively needy people in my life.  Now, not so much.  I am not into pleasing people as much as I used to be.  Frankly, I don’t care as much, but it’s a process.  I am totally aware of how many people dislike me, and that is fine.  Rather than chase down those who choose to feel that way, it is of far greater benefit to embrace the respect of those who really care about me.  The more someone disrespects you, the more obvious it is that you need to walk away or at least detach from them emotionally and spiritually.  They are soul eaters who can really damage the real and authentic you if given the chance.

_____________________________

That was kind of spiritual.  It happens.  My fingers take on a life of their own and just start doing metaphysical things with the keyboard.  I like the creativity of spirit.  There is a new “religion” out there that espouses some very cool tenets.  As opposed to tenants.  They are called Pastafarians and they believe in the Flying Spaghetti Monster.  

flying spag

Sounds like a lot more fun….especially at church potlucks

They wear colanders on their heads (some have actually been allowed to wear their colanders whilst having photos taken for their drivers licenses).  I think it’s great!

pasta pic

This is beyond hilarious!

They also believe in pirates.  According to Pastafarian “beliefs”, pirates are “absolute divine beings” and the original Pastafarians.  Furthermore, Pastafarians believe that the concept of pirates as “thieves and outcasts” is misinformation spread by Christian theologians in the Middle Ages and by Hare Krishnas.  Instead, Pastafarians believe that they were “peace-loving explorers and spreaders of good will” who distributed candy to small children, adding that modern pirates are in no way similar to “the fun-loving buccaneers from history.”  In addition, Pastafarians believe that ghost pirates are responsible for all of the mysteriously lost ships and planes of the Bermuda Triangle.  Pastafarians celebrate International Talk Like a Pirate Day on September 19th.

pastfarian

This guy’s got it all.  The colander, the pasta, AND the pirate eye patch!  My new hero!

So I am wondering if I could start a colander on the head challenge thing to raise money for a cause.  The ALS ice bucket challenge was immensely successful.  I was thinking Meals on Wheels or something related to feeding the hungry.  I welcome all ideas in the comment section.

10 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

10 responses to “Setting Emotional Boundaries and Wearing a Colander on Your Head

  1. Patty O'

    Pastafarians! I love it. And I love “mageb”‘s idea about Mama’s Kitchen. There are MANY such worthy programs. “Special Delivery” does, indeed, deliver food to patients who need it, but perhaps you would concentrate on hungry Italians? Or starving college students who can only afford the pasta but not the marinara? The possibilities are endless. Have colander, will travel! P.S. I’m SO stealing your poster!

  2. Mama’s Kitchen. They feed those with AIDS and Cancer.

  3. They have no sense of proportion. And sometimes the proportion is distorted, you know. My biggest diploma is my high school one. My college diploma is about half the size. And the smallest one — which I could almost fit in my pocket — is my business school certificate. That’s the one that taught me enough to be successful in the business world.

    I know where they all are. I just wonder what my kids will do with them when I’m gone. 😎

  4. i know exactly what you are talking about. Draining….

    • poolagirl

      My Confederacy of Dunces was full of these folks and it almost got the best of me. Getting better. Sorta. Still a long way to go with the Confederacy and a number of others. As I set boundaries and stand up for myself, these people lose their power over me. Why can’t people just be happy for each other and supportive of each other? I get so defeated when my best isn’t enough. Grrrrrrrrrrrrr

    • Was “draining” a totally awesome colander pun? Ooo, I hope so!

Leave a Reply

