Lysol on the Windows and Other Woes

Captain’s Log   5,936

I sprayed Lysol on my picture window instead of glass cleaner.  That makes quite a mess.  Now I will have to wash the window with Bar Keepers Friend.  

bar keeper's friend

Stupid name.  Great product.

I wish I had a dollar for every time I do something stupid like this.  I would be rich.  Or at least moderately comfortable.  Ready to retire.   Politicians build entire careers on being stupid, so why can’t I?

_________________________

One of the docents at the museum has passed away.  I cannot even begin to count the number of memorial services I have attended over the last 9 years.  There won’t be any service or announcements this time.  His body has already been delivered to the university.  According to his wife, his corneas have already been harvested.  He looked awful last time I saw him.  He seemed to be getting smaller with every passing day.  He was a great fellow.  He painted a small picture of a barn and gave it to me when I became the executive director of the museum.  I will cherish it forever.

This is the part of my job that I don’t like.  I don’t like saying so many farewells, but when the average age of our weekday docents is about 80, it’s bound to happen.   I am a bit concerned that the family is not allowing friends and others to participate in any sort of closure experience.  Over the years, I have learned how important that is.  People need a chance to say goodbye in a community way.  But, I will respect the family’s wishes and will not organize anything at the museum.

_________________________

We are busy building the next exhibit.  We went to the local history center to inquire about using some images of the park, and they told us it would cost us………$4,800 to use their photos!  Holy momacita!  So our graphics designer went on eBay and bought photographs.  She spent less than $200 for photos of equal quality and value.  She also went to the main library where they allowed her to photograph images from their books.  No way we are going to pay $4,800 for some pictures!

vintage-postcard

We can do just fine on our own, thank you very much.

It’s all about going Zen and figuring out other ways to succeed.  Always.

12 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

12 responses to “Lysol on the Windows and Other Woes

  1. farmgirl

    On the upside..there are no germs on your window.
    Sorry about the loss of your friend. Those that want to remember will.

  2. I understand that some family just can’t bear the thought of having to talk to all those friends at a funeral. But I think having a memorial service is a nice way to honor them. Maybe you can organize an all-inclusive memorial service in the spring for ALL the docents who have passed away in the past 5 or 10 years.

  3. Bar Keeper’s Friend, huh? Now you tell me. Many years ago, I was cleaning windows when I realized it was time to give my toddlers lunch. Knowing how imitative a little kid can be, I put the Windex up high, where they couldn’t reach it.

    And then the U.D. — you know who I mean — came to tell me she had cleaned the window. Since the cleaner was up high, she improvised. She used Desitin ointment. I think I needed three different cleaners to remove it.

    Parenting — an ever-changing adventure.

  4. bholles

    i want a big party when I pass.

  5. Patty O'

    Perhaps you could take up a modest collection for those who wish to do something so they can contribute to say, having a tree planted? Or even a plaque with his name on it to hang in the library? Because you’re right; such things matter.

    As for the photographs: there are appropriate fees for goods or services, but their fee is extortion. Just NO!

  6. Penny Tushingham

    I totally understand the family wishes in not doing anything. That is my wish when I pass. Some people just have to close the finally close the door and move on.

    Pen Pen

Leave a Reply

