Three Big News Things

Captain’s Log   5,892

I scored!  Holy momacita!  Three big things (for me).

First of all, my grantwriting pal emailed yesterday and asked me if I wanted to see the Blue Man Group in October for $30!  I said YES YES YES!  When she called to arrange the tickets, the lady told her they were FREE!  The other museum she works for gave her two free tickets to see the Blue Man Group!  So off we go.

blue man

I absolutely LOVE these guys!  I have seen them three times in Vegas.

And speaking of Vegas……

One of the museum docents wants to go to the big auto industry show in Vegas in November.  The only way to get in is to go with someone in the industry.  I told him I would see what I could do so we could go together.  It was pretty easy.  One email and I had two tickets.  The only caveat is……  I have to go with him to get him through registration.  He said it was not a problem.  He was delighted to go with me.  He is also picking up my airfare and my room.  We are staying at…….

Wynn Las Vegas Exclusivity

The Wynn Hotel!  Holy momacita again!

I thought we were going to stay at some Vagabond Inn somewhere and take the bus to the show.  Guess I was wrong about that.  Big Sister Mia will be in Vegas at the same time, so I told her she needs to come over and see my room and have dinner.  How fun is that?

And………….

Friend Pam and I will be heading off for New England in October to see the leaves and as many cool things there are to see in Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Vermont, and New York.  She grew up in Vermont and wants to show me what she remembers of her home town of Springfield.  I am also meeting some blogging pals for lunch along the route.   I will be posting photos here and on Facebook. 

springfield

How quaint is that little town of Springfield?  The TV series The Simpsons was patterned after this town. Should be fun to see all of that too.  

It’s not too far from this place.

benandjerrystours

A factory tour of an ice cream producer!  How fun is that????

I love history.  Years ago I did a seminar near Fort Ticonderoga but I never got over to see it.  Maybe this time.

fort ticonderoga

Ethan Allen, Benedict Arnold….all those cool guys.

We are buying tickets to see cool things in Salem.  I want to see the House of the Seven Gables and all the witch stuff.

salem-house-of-seven-gables-

Yup.  Seven Gables.

salem-witch-museum

Oh gosh!  How scary!

And…….one last thing……

When the Von Trapp family emigrated to the United States, they settled in Stowe, Vermont and opened a ski lodge.  We hope to go there for lunch.

von trapp

Edelweiss………every morning you greet me…….

28 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

28 responses to “Three Big News Things

  1. poundheadhere

    Wow – what an itinerary! You’ve got a crazy schedule ahead of you and sounds like you’re going to love every minute of it 🙂

  2. Never seen the blue man group but sure want to. Wow, the wynn. You are above me? G keeps booking us into the Flamingo. LOL See “O” while you are there too.

  3. Looks like you’ll be nowhere near as far south as Maryland. Oh well, maybe next time …

  4. goatbarnwitch

    How far south of lake George might you get? Ticonderoga is very cool and while you are there check out fort William Henry on lake George….. last of the mohicans turf.

  5. Susanna

    So much fun. I can’t wait for my armchair tour! Confucius say, he who shares, shares. I just love his wisdom.

  6. Patty O'

    Talk about a BUSY autumn!

  7. Well….aren’t you special? Yes, you are. It should be gor-gee-ous in the Fall when all the leaves start to turn. Are you driving all the way or flying and then renting a car?

  8. I think the Ben & Jerry’s tour is in Waterbury, VT. It has been years, but I really enjoyed that.

  9. Valerie

    Never have been to Vegas. LOVE the Blue Man Group – such fun! You should go on a night time ghost walking tour in Salem. Now…where in New York would you be?

  10. bholles

    You have a busy schedule. Fun.

  11. Penny Tushingham

    OMG, the trees will be beautiful. I miss seeing them. When are you going? I have been debating with myself on a trip to NY to see my new Great Nephew and I was thinking about tree changing time.

    With all the luck you are having, I would go buy a few lottery tickets myself!

    Pen Pen

Leave a Reply

