Cruising With a Horde of Drunks

Captain’s Log   5,891

I went on this boat last night with 1,000 of my closest friends.  Actually, I knew about 6 people and we huddled together for the entire voyage.  For the most part, this was a loud and drunken cruise with tourism industry professionals who really let their hair down.   There was a loud techno band on the mid deck with a laser light show.  On the top deck, there was an oldies band cranking out some pretty good tunes.  We found seats by the rail and stayed there the whole time.  It was cold enough on the water to wear a fleece.  That was heavenly!

inspiration-bow

I would have been more interested in the wheel house and meeting the captain.  Instead, I listened to the cover band do Happy and a Michael Jackson medley that went on for at least 20 minutes.

I was game to try the cucumber mimosa they handed me as I boarded.  I am not fond of cucumbers but it looked fairly interesting.  Looks can be deceiving.

cucumber mimosa

A healthy serving of veggies in your booze?  I think not.

I took a few sips and politely set it down on one of the many bars set up everywhere.  There was also a lot of faux gaming tables on the mid deck.  Craps, blackjack, etc.  The buffets were nice but I don’t like to eat from buffets unless I watch them being set up or they are in a restaurant.  My mother instilled a really healthy fear of food poisoning, so I am always cautious.  I ate some carmelized nuts and some apple slices.  Safe bet.  And a lemon tart.  I don’t think lemon tarts can poison you.

There was a rum and coffee station set up.  I passed.  I passed on all the martini things too.  My staffer bee who was with me suggested the lightest beer they were serving from one of the many craft beer breweries here in San Diego.  It was okay, but a Bud Light would have suited me just fine.  But I was sophisticated and ordered this because I wanted to appear in the know about such things.  I finished my beer and gave the rest of my drink tickets away.

saison

Ale brewed with spices.  Kinda yucky but I finished it.  It was ice water from that point forward.

Thinking about Michael Jackson, I think he was the only songwriter to get away with the word “vegetable” in a song.  Just like Carly Simon got away with “gavotte.”   When you think about it, those words are really strange.  Forced.  Would never fly in a poetry class.  Then again, what was Carly to do when she was stuck with the word “yacht?”  I guess she could have used these words….

not

hot

got

slot

begot

lot

jot

But no, she chose “gavotte.”  Bless her little heart.  If she used “begot,” her whole song could have been more Biblical.  I don’t think she completely grasped the possibilities.

Brain has stopped functioning.  Off to Adventureland!

6 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

6 responses to “Cruising With a Horde of Drunks

  1. Well, now you’ve done it and don’t have to do it again next year. LOL

  2. Patty O'

    I think I love Dangerspouse.

  3. poolagirl

    I stand corrected. In a big way!

  4. He was *almost* the only songwriter.

    Frank Zappa, “Call Any Vegetable”:

    Call any vegetable Call it by name
    Call one today When you get off the train
    Call any vegetable And the chances are good
    Aw, The vegetable will respond to you

    (Some people don’t go for prunes…I
    don’t know, I’ve always found that if they…)
    Call any vegetable Pick up your phone
    Think of a vegetable Lonely at home
    Call any vegetable And the chances are good
    That a vegetable will respond to you

    Rutabaga, Rutabaga,
    Rutabaga, Rutabaga,
    Rutabay-y-y-y…

    etc.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

